Friday, January 30, 2009

Super Bowl XLIII

Super Bowl XLIII is just two days away and that means its prediction/comment time for me. I have thought long and hard about this game and I have decided on my pick. The Pittsburgh Steelers have been phenomenal on defense all year long. The Arizona Cardinal have been phenomenal on offense all year long. Those two statements are what makes this Super Bowl so dramatic. You have opposites and that causes drama. The Steelers will become the all-time leader in Super Bowl wins if they can win this one with 6. Only the Dallas Cowboys and the 49er's are in company with those numbers . . . both have 5 like the Steelers.

The Arizona Cardinals were the highest scoring team in the National Football League this season. The 20 times that the highest scoring team has made it to the Super Bowl, they have won 9 times and lost 11. When you factor in the Steelers case, being that they were the defense that allowed the fewest points in the National Football League this season  - - - The teams who made it to the Super Bowl who allowed the fewest points are 12-4. Listen people, both teams have had 2 weeks off. Plenty of time to prepare, plenty of time to rehab, and plenty of time to get focused. If the Cardinals can get to "BIG BEN" and I think they will, then the Cards have a tremendous shot at winning this football game. Their front 7 is so under rated. They have been playing extremely well throughout this post season. Not to mention their first round draft pick, Cornerback Rogers-Cramarte (Tennessee State), who has just been outstanding. Going back to Arizona's front 7 . . . let me mention that they have only given up 107 rushing yards in the entire post season...  now thats serious. Hines Ward will be shut down because Cramarte won't let anything by him so that means Nate Washington and tight end, Heath Miller will have to step up. "BIG BEN" is not a rhythm quarterback . . . the Cards cannot let him scramble out of the pocket on third downs because he will hurt you. 

Can we all agree that this is a tension Super Bowl? So much drama and anticipation. Cardinals Quarterback, Kurt Warner has astounded the nation this season but he will have to be aware of the Steelers front 7 and pretty much their entire defense . . . what makes Pittsburgh's secondary so good is the fact that they just do their assignments. They are in sync at all times and that is what makes them tough to beat. However, I would be extremely careful if I were the Steelers defense because you do not want to blitz Kurt Warner. He is extremely good against the blitz. In fact, Warner was the 6th best verse the blitz this season. He can get rid of the ball fast and he is accurate when he throws it. Not to mention he has three receivers who have caught for over 1,000 yards a piece. 

For example, The Philadelphia Eagles 15 out of the 30 pass plays. Kurt Warner was 10 of 15 with no picks and 181 yards with the Eagles blitzing him. Now the Steelers defense has been prolific for the most part. They only allowed 10 catches for 92 yards combined against T.O., Plaxico, and Randy Moss . . . oh yeah and just 1 touchdown...that came week 14 (T.O.). 

That being said, I love Dick Lambeau just as everyone else does but I am not picking the Steelers to win the Super Bowl. Ike Taylor and the Steelers defense will be so focused on Larry Fitzgerald that Anquan Boldin is going to have a terrific game. I'll take Kurt Warner as MVP and Boldin a close second if not a "sharing MVP."               SCORE >>>>

Steelers-19
Cardinals-26

Wednesday, January 28, 2009


Well we are getting closer and closer to Super Bowl XLIII and my pick will be first seen on the blog by 5 p.m. Friday afternoon. I feel like we are haring too much about the two quarterbacks in this game and why not right . . . I mean they are a pretty big key to their perspective team. I have already posted about the two quarterbacks that you can READ below...

In this particular post I would like to talk about the Arizona Cardinal's wide outs : Anquan Boldin, Steve Breaston, and Larry Fitzgerald. This may be one of the best trifector of receivers we have ever seen in the National Football League. You never find a trio of receivers that have caught over 1,000 yards a piece in one season (Fitzgerald - 1,431 Boldin- 1,038 Breaston- 1,006). I think that the Pittsburgh Steelers are going to have a BIG PROBLEM covering these playmakers with the 3-4 defense they run. Yes, the Steelers have done what they needed to do all year and that is to make it "click." They all do their own assignments and it works. But when you have THREE athletes like this to worry about, it is unlike any other challenge a defense has faced such as the Steelers. 

Fitzgerald, Boldin, and Breaston have combined for 26 touchdowns this season. That is about 60 percent of the Cardinals offense. They are a one dimensional  team...although Tim Hightower has played extraordinarily well in the post season. But the running game does not matter because I do believe the Steelers will shut down any run game that the Cards put out there. Going back to the three receivers, they WILL be an impact win or lose in the Super Bowl. Mostly, Boldin because I think the Steelers will focus more on the play of Fitzgerald.

When it all comes down to who wins the game and who doesn't ... I guarantee these triplets will have a SAY! The Steelers will have to rely on playing zone if they are going to win because if you blitz Kurt Warner, your going to get burnt when these three come out to play!

Monday, January 26, 2009

MY Quarterback Is Better Than Yours


Two quarterbacks that have winning records in the playoffs >>> Ben Roethlisberger 7-2 and a Super Bowl & Kurt Warner 8-2 No Super Bowl. Two people that are experienced. Two guys who have been there and done that. Two quarterbacks who played at "no name schools" - - - the two are not the Florida, USC, and Alabama guys. Big Ben, as they like to call them in the "Steel City" of Pittsburgh, went to Miami University (Ohio). Kurt Warner was an undrafted field general from Northern Iowa. 

At this point in their career who would you want? A quarterback who was released from the Green Bay Packers his first year there and on the verge of not making it anywhere. A quarterback who no NFL teams were willing to take a chance on so he went on to play in the Arena Football League later to be named first-team All Arena in both 1996 and 1997....also named 12th on a list of the all-time best players to ever play in the Arena Football League.......

ORRR.......

Would you want a guy that has proven himself since day one. A guy who won a Super Bowl (Pitt vs. Seattle 21-10) in just his second season under center in the National Football League. A quarterback who was named AP Offensive Player of The Year in 2004. A field general who did not have an offensive lineman that could play the game this year and he still willed the team to a Division Championship and an AFC Championship. 

Furthermore, this was Big Ben's first season where he played the full 16-game schedule. He completed just 59 percent of his passes which was down from the previous season where he completed 65 percent of his passes. Thanks to Allen Flaneca Roethlisberger did not have much of an offensive line whatsoever. I think Kurt Warner has been through more dramatic situations in his life, therefore making him the more experienced quarterback. Warner is going to try to set his spot in Canton, Ohio by winning this football game coming up this Sunday. 

Finally, I would love to take the guy who has already won a Super Bowl but I would take Kurt Warner right now. After watching him throughout the year, over and over...Warner does not telegraph passes. He's poise and accurate . . . and I just like him at this point. Warner beat 3 playoff teams in a row to get to this point...part of that is the coaching staff. When Arizona wins....don't ya think something is up...? Both of these quarterbacks are super stars now and much credit is deserved across the board. It is tough to pick from one of these two . . . but I will always go to the elderly before I go to a guy who is just starting to perform in his prime. Guess we'll see this Sunday in Super Bowl XLIII. 

Sunday, January 25, 2009

Keep Yo Mouth Shut...


"My" number 2 rated (soon to be number 1 rated) Duke Bluedevils took on Gary William's Maryland Terrapins yesterday and crushed the Terps 85 to 44. This was the largest margin of vicotry for Duke in 164 meetings with the Terps. Duke showed the nationa that they were the absolute number one team in the nation come January 26, 2009 (Monday) when they do the new rankings. 

The story of this game was Maryland player, Greivis Vasquez, was quoted saying "That's my house," the junior guard said. "I love going in there. It's going to be fun." What a bold statement for such a mediocre player in the nation. Well guess what Vasquez it is not your house. You played a total of 28 minutes and had three turnovers to one assist and just four points. Your garbage man . . . sorry. Do not come into Cameron Indoor Stadium and say that it is your house because its not.

I think we all know who's house it actually is. Vasquez is an over hyped half white half tan dude who should have kept his mouth shut. It always fails for players when they make statements like this and guess what they usually get "ROLLED!" This was a prime example of stupidity. Maybe next time Greivis will learn his lesson or maybe not. Obviously, he is not a very educated person or he would have done it the first time...oh well hopefully he learned his lesson to not say anything about the team from Durham :) :) :)

Friday, January 23, 2009

Bad Taste




The Detroit Pistons played the Dallas Mavericks Friday Night and I had a chance to watch this game before I went to go see the movie "Revolutionary Road." The Mavs, who had lost five of seven coming into the game, came to Auburn Hills and showed that they are still a contender thanks to big Brandon Bass - - - who had 18 points ((not usual(Bass's season high)). 

The story I want to talk about is the Pistons decision to get rid of Chauncey Billups. Billups was acquired by Denver while Allen Iverson came back east where he once played (Philadelphia). The Pistons are 20-18 with Iverson and they are at best, mediocre in the Eastern Conference. Detorit is also 3-7 in their last 10 games. Listen, I am not going to set here and say "I told you so...but I told you so." The Pistons are struggling to figure out what works with their team and who meshes in with the right group on the hardwood. I know Iverson is a scoring machine who is going to be a Hall of Famer most likely. Iverson is looking for his first NBA Championship and it does not look good right now for him in Detroit. 

The Pistons are now trying to see if Rip Hamilton, one of the most under rated players in the game today, can come off the bench and get production. We have seen now - - - after doing this twice...that it does not look like this is going to work. Listen....Rodney Stuckey is an uprising superstar but there was no reason to get rid of someone like Chauncey Billups, who is already a "PROVEN" superstar. I mean you can say that the Eastern Conference is weak and it is.....right now the Pistons would be the 5th seed with a 24-18 record. 

The Pistons are one of the most experienced ... if not the most experienced teams next to the San Antonio Spurs in the National Basketball Association. Piston's first-year coach, Michael Curry, has a rough road ahead of him if he cannot find the right mesh. There is no question the Pistons have the talent, experience, and motivation . . . but it is all up to Curry to get his team's chemistry in the right order. 

That being said....the Pistons will make the playoffs...there is no doubt in my mind (only because of a weak Eastern Conference). They'll sneak in as a 5 or 6 seed with 43 or 44 wins under their belt but this team is not going to be able to beat a decent team in a 7-game series when it comes playoff time if they cannot get their chemistry together. 

PISTONS=DISARRAY 

Thursday, January 22, 2009

The 81 Point Anniversary


Today marked the day that Kobe Bryant scored 81 points against the Toronto Raptors just three years ago (January 22, 2006). The 81 points scored by Kobe was the second highest total a player has ever went for in a National Basketball Association game. Bryant, who in my opinion is the best player in the Association, is probably the only player that could score 81 points in a game these days. The NBA scoring record for one game is Wilt Chamberlain who scored 100 points in March of 1962. I think we will all remember Kobe's outburst for a long - long time. Both Bryant and Chamberlain had methotical nights that we rarely ever see in basketball. I do not think our/"my" generation will ever see anyone score over 65 points in a game.

If I have to "pick" any player that I would bet on to even come close to 81 or 100 points in a game...it would definitely be KOBE BRYANT. Lets face it...games like this do not come around often. It took a player 40 years to even come close to 100. 

There is no question that this is one of the best sports moments in my entire life that has occurred. Kobe is simply amazing. Some of the most astonishing plays have been created around Kobe Bryant. He is the only player that can get a shot off anytime he wants and he his so so clutch in the last five minutes of any ball game....oh yeah and he shoots about 95 percent from the charity strike at the end of a close game "cough cough" LE b R "cough" oN. Anyways.....Lastly, we should celebrate this day. I know I will never forget the day because it is one day before my mother's birthday....how will you remember????!!!...

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

The Presidential Inauguration


Just some short thoughts of my own....

I watched CBS's coverage of Obama's Inauguration and I thought the broadcast was extremely positive. The media really pulled toward high hopes and you could tell through the interviews that they did after his speech that people had a positive view toward the future. The Inauguration was spirited and you could feel the excitement throughout Obama's speech. Obama's speech was one of my favorite parts. The speech was inspirational and touching. I do not think people will remember the speech first. I think it will be the atmosphere that people remember first. The energy of everyone witnessing this event is what I think people will remember when we talk about this 25 years from now. Overall, the Inauguration was an exciting event to watch (I wish I could have been there). Obama has a thick task ahead of him. We are in two wars and our economy is down the drain right now. I have faith in Obama. As Obama said, "there is no excuses, we can do this..."

I'm not going to tell you whether I voted for him or not...but I will say this. My prediction - - - 5 years from now Obama will have made America a better place to live :)

Sunday, January 18, 2009

Divisional Championship Picks


The Sunday we have all been anticipating for six straight days. The Sunday we have all have had ants in are pants for. The Sunday that fans are full of stress and HOPE. Yes, we call it Championship Sunday. And then there were four.....

I will start with the game in the desert. The Philadelphia Eagles travel west to take on the Arizona Cardinals for the right to go to the Super Bowl and win Andy Reid's sixth NFC Title in 10 years. There is no question that Arizona will have to estbalish a run game with Edgerrin James and Tim Hightower if they want to win this football game. Both have truly had up and downs all season long. 

Here is the way I feel about this game. The Cardinals are a one-dimensional team. They like to throw the pigskin...thats it. You get them out of their comfort zone and they collapse. There is no question that Cardinal Quarterback, Kurt Werner, has played phenomenal all year long. 30 touchdown passes to just 14 intereptions and well over 4,000 yards. If and it is a BIG "IF"....Defensive Coordinator Jim Johnson of the Eagles can get pressure on Werner this game will be over i a hurry. I love the two wideouts for the Cardinals, Larry Fitzgerald and Anquan Boldin. Larry had over 1,400 yards in receiving and Anquan had over 1,100 yards...what a DUO/TANDEM! 

When it is all said and done...I feel as if Jim Johnson will get his defense to play well and Brian Westbrook will have a "breakout" game....the one we have been waiting for in the playoffs. Westbrook has yet to have one of his games that he has one out of every three times he is on the football field. I'll take Donovan McNabb and the Eagles in the HOT HOT SUN ... 

EAGLES-27
CARDINALS-19

Now we go to "The Steel City" . . . 

Everyone is talking about this one it seems like. The Baltimore Ravens defense will try to slow down a mediocre offense...hmmm you see where I am going on this one!??! The Pittsburgh Steelers and the Baltimore Ravens will square off in what is going to be a LOW LOW SCORING and a HARD HARD FOUGHT football game. 

Raven Rookie Quarterback, Joe Flacco, seems like he has done the impossible already by becoming the first rookie quarterback to win two yes two postseason games. He has only thrown for one touchdown and I give the credit, mainly, to the Raven's defense. I am not going to sit here and type out all the great names they have on that defense...because most of us know all of them. However, I do want to consider talking about the Raven's injuries. Cornerback Samari Rolle and Linebacker, Terelle Suggs are both out or at least "questionable" for this football game. You know what I say to that...who cares because they still have a MONSTER of a defense even without those two. Credit that to defensive coordinator of the Ravens...Rex Ryan ... "THE MAN" who can;t interview good to get a head coaching job! haha...had to throw that in (its the truth).

Now on the Steelers side....I think Steeler's tailback, Willie Parker, cannot be underestimated in this football game. There is no doubt what the Steelers are going to try to do with BIG WILLIE....they are going to try to pound the football just like they did versus the Chargers....(27 attempts for 146 yards and two touchdowns). Big Ben has not had his offensive line to play a single FULL game well all year long and he will not have enough time to buy verse this intense defense of Baltimore. That being said .. .. .. .. .. I am going out on the limb...my decision has not changed all week "for once" . . . I am taking the BALTIMORE RAVENS. Rondo McClain will be the player of the game for Baltimre when he rushes for over 100 yards verse the Steelers defense (who never lets that happen)! 

RAVENS-19
STEELERS-17

Thursday, January 15, 2009

My TOP 15 MOVIES


I do consider myself a very knowledgeable movie critic...considering it is my second passion next to sports! So here are the top 15 movies in my mind of all-time ... (not just personal favorites like Baseketball) 

# 15  - Dumb and Dumber

# 14  - Cherry Crush

# 13  - Knocked Up

# 12  - Valkyrie

# 11  - Toy Story (the first one)

# 10 - 21 

# 9   - Cast Away

# 8   - Breach

# 7   - There Will Be Blood

# 6   -  Into The Wild

# 5   - Hard Candy

# 4   - V for Vendetta 

# 3   - Saw 1-5

# 2   - Batman: The Dark Knight

# 1 -   Titantic 


HONORABLE MENTION

Juno
Friday Night Lights
No Country For Old Men
Wizzard of Oz (1939)! 
Madagascar
Crash
Vanilla Sky
WALL-E
Spanglish
Pirate of the Caribbean - "The Curse of The Black Pearl," "Dead Man's Chest," and of course "At World's End"
DEJAVU 
Full Metal Jacket
Fight Club

I highly recommend watching all of the top 15 if you have not seen certain ones. They are tremendous films that deserve lots and lots of CREDIT! Comments are welcome....but please...and I do mean please.....BE RATIONAL!


Monday, January 12, 2009

Underrated Super Stars In "The City of Brotherly Love"


The Philadelphia Eagles were three of four teams to beat the home team this Saturday and Sunday in the National Football League playoffs to go to the NFC Championship game. 

So Eagle fans....would you like to get rid of Andy Reid and Donovan McNabb now? Yeah, I didn't think so. Sports fans should feel pathetic about themselves today. Andy Reid just got the Eagles into another NFC Championship game and now sports fans are saying ohhh but everything is alright now. I am here to say that YES ! .... it should be ok now! Coach Reid just got your Philadelphia team to the NFC Championship game once again...I mean hes only done that 5 times in 8 years! Lets not forget that he is doing that in the NFC EAST too....the toughest division in football. Lets not forget that he is winning with two of the best and richest owners in football in Dallas and Washington (Jerry Jones and Dan Snyder). 

As I am watching the Golden Globe awards last night (I LOVE YOU KATE WINSLET!) I thought well hey....Clint Eeastwood has never won an oscar but Nicholas Cage has for running around in Vegas in 95'. So what Andy Reid has not won a Super Bowl .... he is in the most grueling/violent division in football. The guy is 25-11 in the month of December. You do not have to win the BIG ONE...to be a "good one" at something. 5 NFC Championship games in 8 years for Coach Reid...seriously sports fans...you have to be ridiculous. Today, I know that you are denying what you said about a month ago but just admit it....you were RIDICULOUSLY WRONG! I mean Indianapolis Colts coach, Toni Dungi, has lost 4 first round games in 7 years and you never here a word about him. Dungi lost 6 that he was a favorite in! A league that has a salary cap and a division as violent as the NFC East...Andy Reid has lived up to be simply one of the best. He over came the T.O. debacle and managed to still get to the NFC Championship Game....give the man his credit. 

Lastly, I have to talk about the franchise quarterback in "The City of Brotherly Love," Donovan McNabb. McNabb is going to go down as one of the most under rated quarterbacks to ever play in the National Football League. He is the "primetime" quarterback who throws big time throws in the middle of the field. It is easy to throw the football from sideline to sideline but McNabb is on of those QB's who throws it right in the heart of the defense...skinning teeth! There was only eight quarterbacks that have ever got sacked less than Donovan McNabb and truly just four - - -  Senneca Wallace and Matt Hassleback in Seattle but they split time so rule those two out and your down to six. J.P. Lossman and Trent Edwards in Buffalo but Trent played just four games and Lossman the other 12 so rule those two out and your down to truly only four quarterbacks who got sacked less times than McNabb. Those quarterback you ask - - - Jake Delhomee, Tony Romo, Peyton Manning, and Eli Manning. Hmm...lets see...Delhomee has Steve Smith and two runningbacks who are just nasty....Romo has Roy Williams, Jason Witten, and T.O. ... both Mannings have big time receivers on their team ... McNabb... hmm Brian Westbrook who is an all-purpose back! 

The truth is Donovan McNabb and Andy Reid deserve soooo much credit its not even funny. McNabb was a division one basketball recruit - Reid is a coach who has just got the Eagles into their 5th NFC Championship in 8 years....(hint hint) not a lot of coaches have EVER done that. The Eagles and Giants are becoming a great NFL rivalry.....7 out of the last 9 times they have played each other ...the road team has won. Give these two their credit DUMB SPORTS FANS...come out of the closet and admit you were WRONG! :)

Thursday, January 8, 2009

Choklahoma and Bob "Oops"



After all the talk about the two offenses of Florida and Oklahoma, there was not a single point scored in the first quarter. In fact, the halftime score was 7 to 7. Florida was consistently moving the ball down the field, but penalties hurt. Penalties also hurt the Oklahoma Sooners. Duke Robinson, a first team All-American offensive lineman had two terrible penalties. A late hit and then a holding call. No holding call - - - It's a Sooner first down at the 15 after  tight end Jermaine Gresham caught a 25 yard BEAUTIFUL PASS by Sam Bradford. Both teams laid goose eggs in the scoring column after both were outscoring their opponents by a mile in first quarter play. (1st QT differential through the entire season - - - OK +195 (1st in the nation) and FL + 147 (2nd in the nation). 

First possession in the second quarter for Florida they go down and strike first. A 20-yard reception TD by Gator wideout Lewis Murphy. However, the touchdown did not bother the Sooners whatsoever. After three straight runs from Chris Brown, who is backing up DeMarco Murray, it took just two more plays for Oklahoma to capitalize. My other "boi" Jermaine Gresham caught a beautiful pass from Sam Bradford to make it 7-7. After a scoreless first half, in 3:10 it was 7-7. 

The biggest advantage that you could tell in the first half is that the Oklahoma Sooner offensive line dominated the Florida Gators. Great coaching changes were made too. Sooner's Coach Bob Stoops realized after the first quarter that they were not going to have all the success with Bradford so he went to the run game and the Sooners rushed for 82 yards after rushing for just 64 yards in the first quarter. 

The TAIL of the first half, which ended in an interception by Oklahoma quarterback Sam Bradford and a 7-7 score, was the two Heisman Trophy winners thrpowing a combined three interceptions. Needless to say, the two interceptions thrown by Florida Gator quarterback, Tim Tebow in the first half ended up not costing his team because Oklahoma did not score on either two possessions. 

The second half looked to be all Florida Gators, but it truly was a "barn burner" of a game. After both teams punted in each of their first possessions in the second half you knew the defenses were there to stay. Then, Florida took over and I called it the "TIM TEBOW DRIVE," which capped off in a Percy Harvin touchdown. Within the next few minutes Oklahoma came right back down and tied it up with another Jermaine Gresham tocuhdown. Gresham finished with 8 receptions, 62 yards and 2 touchdowns. The only touchdowns Choklahoma scored all game. 

Although, the Sooners had a lot of success running the football with Chris Brown, who backed up the injured DeMarco Murray, Florida's defense still had an architectural performance. Brown rushed for 110 yards on  22 carries.

So after another scoring drive by the Florida Gators to make it 17-14, my "boi" Same Bradford through an incredible ball over the middle to Jaquain Iglesias and it got picked off by Amad Black (7th of the season). Before this game, Oklahoma was use to playing zone defenses.....well they met Florida's defense that played MAN-2-MAN! Oklahoma scored 76 out of the 80 times they got in the red zone this season. Last night, they got in 1 out of 3 times. There is no question that Charlie Strong, Gator defensive coordinator, did an outstanding job of scheming this "high-powered" Sooner offense. Now do not get me wrong, Florida was gassed but they made big big stops and that is what you have to do to win National Championships.... make big plays. Also, credit needs to be given to Dan Mullen on an outstanding job of calling plays. This is an offensive coordinator that is soon to be Mississippi State's head coach. I pat him on the beack for staying and doing the right thing...plus it looks good on his resume. However, do not bash Kevin Wilson, Oklahoma's offensive coordinator, like I said....the Gator defense played incredibly well. Wilson orchestrated one of the most outstanding offenses we have seen in the history of college football and credit is deserved. 

In the end, the six foot six 315 pound (average height and weight of OKLAHOMA'S OLINE) lineman could not get the job done for Sam Bradford. Florida did get pressure to Same Bradford on and off all night. In fact, the only time I questioned offensive coordinator Kevin Wilson for being "too conservative" as Lee Corso said. 

Well it was a fun interesting game to watch. You got the best of the best in my opinion. Two coaches who grew up within two hours of each other in the state of O-H-I-O and two quarterbacks that won the Heisman Trophy. Oh yeah....and the highest attendance count in Dolphin Stadium history (NFL or COLLEGE GAME)....78,468. Now the question comes....is Bob Stoops the guy? I definitely think he is the right guy. Name me another coach who has went to the National Championship game 4 out of the 9 years that he has been there.....can't name many can ya!? Granted Stoops is 2-5 in BCS games, while Florida Coach, Urban Meyer is 2-0 and they are both National Championships. Lastly, I have to give a lot of credit to one of the top three quarterbacks to ever play the "COLLEGE FOOTBALL GAME." Tebow rushed for 109 yards on 22 carries and had 231 completion yards on 18 for 30 throwing the pigskin with 2 touchdowns and (2INT's). The kid is remarkable and no one can stress it enough. The kid should come back....I am sorry he might be interesting in a certain system but will never be the quarterback a Sam Bradford will be in the National Football League. Nontheless, Tebow is one of the greatest athelets to ever play the game. The kid has won two National Championships and a Heisman Trophy already...come back for one more year Timmy....you may not have Percy Harvin ("your favorite target) but you will have 10 defensive starters returing including 8 that were SOPHOMORES! If you want to....you can make the case that URBAN MEYER'S FLORIDA GATORS and PETE CAROL'S USC TROJANS could be the favorites the next decade. 



Other notable notes from the game.....

Sam Bradford - 26-41 256 yards 2 TD 2 INT
Percy Harvin - 5 REC 49 yards....122 rsuhing yards on....14 total touches for 171 yards and a touchdown.
Neither team trailed at halftime all season long (7-7 at half in the NC Game)
Lots of momentum swing in the football games. 


The B.C.S. Title Game


B.C.S. Championship Game: Oklahoma (12-1) vs. Florida (12-1)

The College Football National Championship game has been hyped up for a month and a half and the time has finally come. Tonight, we will crown an "unofficial" National Champion in collegiate football. It seems as if "everyone" is taking Florida to win this football game. I am here to make my case for the Oklahoma Sooners! Yes, I love Sooner Quarterback, Sam Bradford and I have a man crush on him so therefore, I am picking the Sooners and heres why....

Oklahoma has put up 60 points or more 5 times in a row against Top 25 teams. Florida will have to put pressure on Oklahoma Quarterback, Sam Bradford to win this football game. The Sooners have the best offensive line in the nation BY FAR. Starting Sooner tailback, DeMarco Murray ((14 total touchdowns-(hamstring injury))  is out for this game (this we have known since the last week). However, Murray is a huge loss for the Sooners but upback Chris Brown, who will be starting in the Title game tonight, has rushed for more yards this season than Murray. Also, do not forget 3rd string running back, sophomore, Mossis Madu, who rushed for over a 100 yards against Missouri in the Big 12 Championship Game. Do not think that Oklahoma does not have any weapons outside of some of their receivers because they do! 

Florida scores 91 percent of the time in the RED ZONE, which is a remarkable statistic to look at. They have scored 48 touchdowns while in the RED ZONE. A big part of that, is Gator Junior Quarterback and 2007 Heisman Trophy winner, TIm Tebow, who rushed for 12 tocuhdowns this year. That is a lot of touchdowns right....? In fact, the Gators has only had 11 field goals all season. 

Back to Oklahoma.....besides Bradford, I love the two "BIG TIME" receivers that Oklahoma has. Well....one is a tight end....and may I say....whoever drafts him (Jermaine Gresham) or Kenny Britt from Rutgers is getting a playmaker who is going to be in the National Football League for a long time to come. Now, going back to the two playmakers on Oklahoma's team. I will start with the tight end who I just mentioned, Jermaine Gresham. Gresham has caught 58 receptions this season for 888 yards and 12 touchdowns. This 6 foot 6 inch 250 pound BEAST is straight up nasty...and he will have a HUGE GAME (win or lose)....I'll take the over in Greshman catching at least 9 plus passes tonight. Then we go to the leading receiver on the Oklahoma Sooner team, Juaquin Iglesias. Iglesias has caught 69 balls....10 of them for a touchdown. His senior leadership will help tonight if they can find a way to get him the ball against this fast Florida secondary. Iglesias has 1,092 yards this season and he has to be a factor in tonight's game to win. 

Florida's defense gets too much media in my oppinion. They played in what was a weak SEC Conference this season with junky quarterbacks. Tennesee-Auburn-Mississippi State ... ehhh...quarterback problems. The one quality win that sticks out is the Georgia game...but they always beat the Bulldogs in the World's Largest Outdoor Coacktail Party (accept last year). Even when the Gators beat Alabama for the SEC Championship....ehhh John Parker Wilson...good quarterback...nah I don't think so ... only completing 58 percent of his passes. Oklahoma's Sam Bradford and Texas's Quarterback Colt McCoy completed over 73 percent pluys of their throws. Therefore, I think the Gator defense is just a TAD overhyped. They are good and I expect Florida linebacker, Brandon Spikes to eat people alive tonight. Florida's defense will need to get speed off the edge to get to Sam Bradford. I think that would be the best wrinkle for the Gators to put in if they want to win this National Championship. 

Also, I cannot wait to see what Florida receiver, Percy Harvin, who is coming back for the first time since rehab on his ankle. He did not play in the SEC Championship Game and Florida beat Alabama in that game by 11 points. Trust me, whether he says he is 90 percent or not, it is not like they need Harvin to win this football game.

That being said, you can go back and forth statistic wise with these two teams. The main factor in this ball game is the two Heisman Trophy Winners....BOTH QUARTERBACKS (FL's Tim Tebow and OK's Sam Bradford). These two WILL DETERMINE the National Championship. In Florida's case, they will need to respect the pass, therefore, Oklahoma's job is to establish the run game. A staggering statistic that I heard on the Doug Gotlieb show on ESPN radio was that Oklahoma (on average) runs 30 more plays than their opposing team. You are looking at a 61 to 31 ratio (or something like that) 2 to 1....! 

I am taking COACH BOB STOOPS and the OKLAHOMA SOONERS to win this football game! I can see it coming down to the person with the ball last winning the game because there will not be too many punts tonight. After this game, Bob Stoops will be Bob Stoops and no longer Bob "OOOPS!" He knows what its like to win a National Title...he did it in his second year at Oklahoma. (I do have to say before I give my score prediction...that it is very hard to pick against a competitor like Tim Teebow.) The score......

Oklahoma- 37
Florida-27

Sunday, January 4, 2009

PLAYOFF PICKS (2nd Edition)


Yesterday, I went one for two in my playoff picks. Somehow, someway, my San Diego Chargers are still alive for a Super Bowl! I picked the Chargers at the beginning of the season to beat the Dallas Cowboys in the Super Bowl...(haha whoops). Anyways, that is besides the fact. Today I am picking the two games that are on the scedule and can be seen on CBS.


Lets start with the 1:00 game. The Baltimore (Flying Flaccos...as I like to call them) Ravens are at the Miami Dolphins. Everyone talks about Dolphin quarterback Chad Pennington winning the comback player of year award, but lets not forget their first round draft pick and the first player to be taken in last years draft....the kid from Michigan...Offensive Tackle JAKE LONG. He has been nonetheless STELLER this year! Yes, Baltimore's defense is an outstanding defense. All-Pro and Pro Bowler Ed Reed has had 8 interceptions in the last 6 games...remarkable right?! However, I am going to go with the more experienced quarterback, Chad Pennington in this one. There is no question that both rookie coaches (Tony Sparano-Miami and John Harbaugh-Baltimore) have had incredible success in each of their first year as a head coach. Baltimore's rookie quarterback, Joe Flacco will not win this football game. It will be up to runningback LeRon McClain to win this football game for the Ravens. If Flacco throws over 30 passes...game over. You saw it with Matt Ryan yesterday....the second half of a playoff game is where that so-called "catch" comes in and it has been proven that a rookie "field general" cannot get the job done. Take the Dolphins.


In the second game today....the Philadelphia Eagles travel to Minnesota to take on the Vikings. This game is too easy for me to pick. Out of the four games that are taking place these past two days, this is MY LOCK! Take the Philadelphia Eagles to win this football game. In fact, if they prove to me that they can go in and dominate the Vikings....(just a heads up) I am probably going to take them over last years Super Bowl winning New York Giants.....but thats for another week and another discussion. Anyways, the Eagles should go into this game and win easily in my oppinion. Too many injuries on the defensive side of the ball for the Vikings. Plus, they will have to rely on former Oklahoma runningback (Offensive R.O.Y. last year) Adrian Peterson to win this game for them. Eagle quarterback Donavan McNabb and "all-purpose back" Brian Westbrook will have a field day on this mediocre defense of the Vikings. Remember, this is an experienced Eagle team. Most of them were around for the 4 NFC title games and the Super Bowl they went to. Take the EAGLES...BIG!


Baltimore Ravens @ Miami Dolphins - 12-17 MIAMI

Philadelphia Eagles @ Minnesota Vikings- 34-20 EAGLES

Saturday, January 3, 2009

PLAYOFF PICKS (1st Edition)


There are two National Football League's Playoffs are underway today. Two games will be played today- Atlanta Falcons @ Arizona Cardinals at 4:30 and Indianapolis Colts @ San Diego Chargers.


I would like to start with the Arizona Cardinals. They will beat the Atlanta Falcons todayin my oppinion. The Cardinals have a high powered offense and I like the wide outs, Anquan Bolden and Larry Fritzgerald to have big games. Plus, lets not forget, Matt Ryan is a ROOKIE QUARTERBACK! Last 3 games he has thrown 5 interceptions and 3 touchdowns....those are not good statatistics caompared to the first 13 games of the season. Ryan will be nervous and turn the ball over in this game and that is why I like the Cardinals to move on.


Lastly, the Colts and the Chargers I think, is the most intertesting game to watch. These two teams are basically a rivalry the past couple of years. Charger runningback Ladien Tomlinson has been unhealthy all season, but he has led the team to a 8-8 record and a shot at the Super Bowl. However, you know exactly what I am about to say. Most Valuable Player of the Year is on the other side of the football. Thats right, Peyton Manning who just won his second MVP in a row ( he has 3 in his career- - - only Brett Favre has done that) will dominate the Chargers defense. The Chargers defense is mediocre at best. I am taking the Colts to win this game!


Atlanta @ Arizona - 26-12 CARDINALS

Indianapolis @ San Diego - 30-21 COLTS

Friday, January 2, 2009

WAKE UP & Smell The Roses


It was a sunny/beautiful day in Southern California for the Rose Bowl. Unfortunately, it was not so bright for the Penn State Nittany Lions. From the first possession until the fourth quarter, Joe Pa's Nittany Lions were disasterous on all acounts. With a three and out first possession, I said, "oh goodness, here we go." That was not the case because when the University of Southern California Trojans got the ball, quarterback Mark Sanchez threw three straight incomplete passes forcing the team to punt. When Penn State got the ball back for their second possession I said they have to make a statement now and capitalize. The first play from scrimmage sophomore runningback, Evan Royster, ran for a big 15 yard gain, however, then it was a three and out. From then on out, it went wayyyyy down hill....as it always does for the Big 10 conference.


The Trojans got the ball back and quarterback, Mark Sanchez, led his team down the field in a long draining drive that ended up a Damien Williams touchdown. Sanchez threw a strike right accross the middle. In my oppinion he showed that he could do "it." Williams, a transfer from Arkansas, caught a whopping 10 catches for 162 yards....6 of those catches were in the second quarter (for 100 yards alone).


However, Penn State offensive coordinator Galen Hall, made a statement of his own by mixing up the playbook for Nittany Lion quarterback, Daryll Clark. Clark finished off a big drive down the field by capitalizing on a disfuncitonal play, by running one into the endzone. The offensive line looked as if they were ready to step upo and play.


With the score 7-7, I was thinking to myself that Penn State is going to make this interesting, but of course I was totally wrong. Again, USC quarterback Mark Sanchez went down the field and drove the Trojans into the endzone by running in the endzone himself. I thought Steve Sarkisian (USC Offensive Coordinator) really started mizing up the playbook well for Mr. Sanchez and the boys. Sarkisian, who will be the Washington Head Coach next year, did as beautiful of a job as you could ask for in an offensive coordinator who is going to be switching hats at the end of the season.


I cannot even go on with this story...it ends here because Penn State was just another embarrasing Big 10 team that did not deserve to be in Pasadena, Calif. for the Rose Bowl. Nittany Lion starting runningback, Evan Royster, was out by the middle of the second quarter....and that is when I said PENN STATE is DONE. PNittany Lion quarterback Daryll Clark had a mediocre perfromance. He threw 36 passes, 21 of them he completed for 273 yards. Then, you look on the other sideline where Trojan quarterback Mark Sanchez set a USC Rose Bowl record throwing for 417 yards on 28 of 35....REMARKABLE stuff!


The fact is, USC is better. Penn State does not have the talent nor the athletes that USC does, in that case I do not think anyone does in the country. Oh, but Jamie they do not have one solid reunningback....no your right they don't. They have four guys that would start anywhere else i nthe country. 3 of their runningbacks had 630 yards or more...so SHHH it! Guess what....they are all freshman and sophoomores too !!!!!!!!!! (haha) ...In fact that is why I think Mark Snachez (Quarterback for USC) should come back next year. Virtually, everyone is back for USC's offense next year with the exception of Patrick Tuner, senior wide out. Sanchez would be the third or fourth quarterback taken in the draft. Next year, he will probabaly be the favorite to be the number one pick overall, if Oklahoma quarterback Sam Bradford and Georgia quarterback Matthew Stafford enter the draft this year.
I am not a believer that the Big 10 does not deserve to go to a BCS Bowl, but I am a believer of not letting two Big 10 teams get in a BCS. (Ohio State vs Texas and Penn State vs USC) That is a little excessive. The truth is, the Big 10 teams have about 5 or 6 players that really stand out and could play anywhere in the country, but most are just good players...not great. Michigan beat Florida last year....so that proves that there is parity. Let the Big 10 go to a BCS game . . . but get a better matchup if USC plays in the Rose Bowl...because it has been disasterous to even watch. The game did get a TV RATING of 16.....that is GREAT! Especially when the Orange Bowl last night, which was a primetime game (when most audiences are the biggest) got a TV RATING of a 6! Ehh!


Looking toward next year for USC Head Coach Pete Carol's team, they really look to be in good shape. It will be more of an offensive game next year with (likely) 10 of their 11 starters on denfense will enter the National Football League Draft (4 of them, likely to go in the first round!) USC is a dynasty team. In the 8 games that USC has lost in 6 years under Carol, they have not lossed by more than a single touchdown. If that is not enough for you, they have two National Championships and four Rose Bowls. Does that not just disgust you....hahahahaha! - - - I still think USC can beat anyone in the nation....Pete Carol said it the best in the postgame interview yeaterday....go watch that!


PETE CAROL = KING of Los Angeles!