
Los Angeles:
The Los Angeles Lakers and the Denver Nuggets square off tonight in what should be an epic, tatted up, torrid seven-game series. The Lakers are the finesse, sexy, flashy, "look at us" team and the Nuggets have more ink than the Sunday New York Times. Those aspects are a recipe for "dot edu guy" and "tinfoil on my head" guy, because you know these games are going to be close and fans will start going ape nuts with the referees.
Though I'm not a conspiracy guy, Phil Jackson's team better wake up. Andrew Bynum has shown is immaturity, Lamar Odom is that guy that looks good in the front hotel lobby, but never performs to his hype (GM's drool over players like these, then they falter), and Pau Gasol has been softer than a ball of yarn. His new nickname- "The Soft Pretzel Delight." Yes, Gasol gets his points and rebounds, but he needs to learn how to play physical defense in the lane. He let a bunch of boarder line D-League players drive on him last series (Chuck Hayes, Von Wafer, and Carl Landry). Hey Pau, wake the hell up. You made it to the Western Conference Finals and your not playing YMCA players anymore. The Nuggets are grown men that look like a bunch of Chopper motorcycle riders that want to obliterate everything in site. That being said, when this L.A. team wants to play, they'll play. But I cannot wait for "conspiracy theory guy" or "blame the ref guy" start criticizing the officiating. Let the saga begin...
Bud Selig:
Congratulations to Major League Baseball and Mr. Selig. They finally got "something" right. After adjusting the starting times of the 2009 World Series, I would like to give a round of applause to Commissioner Bud Selig. The games have been moved up approximately 40-to-50 minutes earlier. Yay.
Lets be honest. The only people that were up for last years World Series were college kids, vampires, and NBA beat writers. It was idiotic and totally unnecessary to start games at 8:45 last year and that's a fact. Unlike the NFL, where the Superbowl is kicked off by 6:30 p.m., Major League Baseball did not have their "main event" start until most people were reading their Bible scriptures and closing their eyes. So lets give a big HALLELUJAH to baseball fans around the country. It killed baseball for so long and facts prove the significant effect late starting times had. 16-26 year-olds do not watch as much baseball as their dad. Once again, hail to all in the baseball family.
Boston:
Batting in the third spot as a DH for the Boston Red Sox, slugging a whopping .208 for the season with 34 hits with 130 at bats, weighing in at a sweltering 230 pounds... DAVID ORTIZ is wilting. When your the second highest paid "dude" on the team ($13,000,000), you should not go 0-for-7 and leave twelve runners on base EVER as Big Papi did last Thursday in a 4-5 loss to the Anaheim Angels.
There are three scenarios that I would like to propose.
1) He is missing Manny Ramirez that bad. With Manny in the lineup, Ortiz was launching balls all over the place since the 2001 year (when Manny got to Boston). 39,47,40,29,52, and 30. Those are how many home runs Big Papi hit with Manny in the lineup. He's yet to blast one in the 2009 season. A donut in the "HR" column does not sit well with a prominent franchise.
2) Cough "ROIDS!" Cough cough cough... "jeesh," excuse me. Steroids... aachu! Bless you. Cough cough cough. With all the steroid chaos going on this year, he may be deteriorating right in front of our eyes.
ORRR....
3) Bib Papi may be just eroding at the age of 33. Wer see it in the NBA, the NFL, and even in MLB... big guys have lots of problems with their bodies. Ortiz's prime may be gone forever. He could be flushing his year/career down the toilet with this performance.
**My advice: Get the cob webs out of your system before the All-Star break and have a fantastic second half of the season, the Bo Sox fans will completely forget about it... they just want another ring.
**The Million Dollar Question: OVER or UNDER 20 homers for David Ortiz?

No comments:
Post a Comment