
The New York Yankees may be disgusting to most baseball "fans," but I am here to give you perspective. So what, they landed their fourth major deal with a top 5 free agent, Mark Teixeira. You may be thinking that the Yankees are just trying to buy a World Series, but that is not the problem whatsoever. The problem is, our economy is down.
BRIAN CASHMAN'S BREAKDOWN :
The Yankees now have the highest paid first baseman in the history of baseball. The second highest paid 2nd baseman in the league today. The highest paid shortstop in the history of baseball. The highest paid player PERIOD in the history of baseball (Alex Rodriguez) at third base. The highest paid catcher in baseball today. The highest paid starting pitcher in baseball today. The fifth hgihest paid pitcher in baseball. The highest paid closer of all-time in the history of baseball.
Nonetheless, Mr. Cashman, is spitting up the cash these days. I looked up something extremely interesting. 19 players have signed 100 plus million dollar contracts. 7 of those contracts have been signed by former/current YANKEE players.
I have to say that Brian Cashman and the New York Yankees needed to do something to make a statement for next season (which will be upon us very soon). The Yankees did score 179 fewer runs last year then they did the previous year (2007). Now they have "pitching" and hitting," right? WRONG!!!!!...At least in my opinion. Although Mark Teixeira is my "boi," who played for the Atlanta Braves just last year before he got traded mid-season to the Anaheim Angels, the guy has not had to deliver a "big time" hit in a BIG GAME situation. Great hitter, but still has to prove himself. As far as the pitching goes, C.C. Sabathia has not been so great....just look at the post-season stats....the statistics will show you everything. Well what about A.J. Brunett Mr. McCracken. (hahahahaha) ummmm injury prone....has got a TON TON TON to prove.
I do think the Yankees are the front-runner now in the AL East. I give all the PROPS to the Boston Red Sox and lets not forget the team who played in the World Series out of this division, the Tampa Bay Ray. I just cannot see the Yankees not getting it done with the guys they have on their roster now.
Lastly, who cares if you are for or against the Yankees. The fact of the matter is that if the Yankees fall short of the playoffs, everyone will laugh, if they make it to the playoffs....(wild car or division champs) everyone will say they bought their way to the post-season. Therefore, the Yankees will cause DRAMA no matter what happens this coming season. :)

No comments:
Post a Comment