Saturday, February 28, 2009

Bruin Up A Win


Post-Game

BERKELEY, Calif. -- UCLA Bruin fans can breathe a little better after Saturday night's win over California. UCLA (22-7, 11-5 Pac 10 conference) solidifies the number two spot in the Pac 10 heading into the final week of college basketball.  

UCLA's Darren Collison led the Bruins to a 72-68 win with 22 points and six assist. 16 of those points coming in the second half. "We just picked up our intensity," said Collison to ESPN's Erin Andrews after the game.  

The Golden Bears fall to 10-6 in the Pac 10 and 21-8 overall. Cal guard Jerome Randle, finished with 20 points after shooting 50 percent from the field for the game. Meanwhile, Cal's other guard; Patrick Christopher dropped 16 of his own tagged along with 5 rebounds.  

Despite being down by nine with just a little over five minutes to play, the Golden Bears hung in to make it close. Randle's late 3-pointer made it a three point game with 17 ticks to play. But UCLA's Josh Shipp closed the game out by making one of two free throws with 7.8 seconds left to make it a four point game. Randle missed his desperate three point attempt to even give the Bears a shot and the Bruin's Nikola Dragovic pulled down the rebound.  

UCLA will finish out the final week of the season with the two Oregon teams (ORG & ORG ST) in Paulley Pavillion before heading to the Staples Center for the Pac 10 tournament (March 11-14). Meanwhile, the California Golden Bears will finish with the two Arizona teams (AZ & AZ ST) on the road. Arizona has dropped three in a row, while the # 11 Sundevils of Arizona State have lost two in a row.  

To say the least, Saturday night's game showed that the Pac 10 has quality teams in it's conference. I expect the committee to take five teams out of the Pac 10. Borrowing no major collapse or some "wackie" scenario, Washington (22-7, 13-4 Pac 10 Conference) will win the Pac 10. The Huskies might even get a top 3 seed to plant come tournament time. And who's to say they do not deserve the seed. They have played great basketball the latter part of the season with wins over Morgan State (MEAC Champions- most likely), Arizona, and Arizona State. Watch out because the Pac 10 could have three possible teams make a Sweet 16 or Elite 8 run.

Friday, February 27, 2009

A So-Cal Showdown



Pre-Game

The # 19 UCLA Bruins (21-7) travel just a little ways down the road to take on the California Golden Bears (21-7). Both teams are 10-5 in Pac 10 play and both are looking for a seed to plant in the NCAA Tournament come March.  

The Bruins have dropped three out of their last five. Meanwhile, the GOlden Bears are on a role winning five out of their last six. Nonetheless, this has been a questionable season for Ben Howland's Bruins. For a coach that has won three straight Pac 10 titles and go to three straight Final Fours, it does not look promising this season as the Bruin team has loss to the likes of: Michigan, Texas, Arizona State-twice, Washington, Arizona, and Washington State.  

The Bruins are missing a true scorer in the paint. Kevin Love, who is currently making $3.6 million to play for the "disgraceful" Minnesota Timberwolves (18-39), has been the biggest loss UCLA has had in years. Nevertheless, UCLA needs a win over California Saturday night to solidify themselves for a 3,4, or 5 seed come the month of madness. If the Bruins drop one at Hass Pavillion, it could be a devastating end to the Bruins mediocre season.  

UCLA is led by Senior Point Guard Darren Collison (14 ppg and 4 apg). On the other side of the court, two prolific Pac 10 guards will try to handle the Bruin point guard. The Golden Bears are led by a couple of juniors, Jerome Randle and Patrick Christopher. The two are averaging 32 points per game along with six rebounds and seven assist a game. Randle has scored 20 points or more in 13 games this season. Coach Howland's defense will need to step up if they have a chance at these two quick, experienced, and talented guards.  

California is coming off an overtime win versus the University of Southern California (USC) 81-78. The Golden Bears are looking to plant a seed of their own in the bracket of 65. California has key wins over Arizona State, UNLV, Utah, and Arizona. ESPN's Joe Lunardi has the Bears as a 6 seed right now but that surely could improve if they win Saturday.  

The first matchup between these two teams was not even close in the "other" Pavillion, Pauley Pavillion that is. UCLA won the game 81-66. Though Darren Collison had one of his best showings and presented that he is a true first round NBA draft pick with 18 points and 5 assist, the Cal Bears will need to pressure the offense of UCLA and score often.  

MY PICK: (DUH BEARS) California Golden Bears

Thursday, February 26, 2009

Back In The Shop..again



Greg Oden has now missed 10 straight games for the Portland Trailblazers. Oden, averaging 9 points and 7 rebounds a game, has a knee injury this time. Can we say that Oden is injury prone and it is not "bad luck" anymore... seriously. Oden is like a really nice car that is in the garage all the time. Looks nice, got it for a good price ($$$) , has some nice flat monitors in it, but has too many problems and is always in the shop. That's Oden in a nutshell at the moment.

Quit with this bad luck jargon. Karl Malone missed eight games in his eighteen year career in the National Basketball Association. Oden is obviously injury prone. Portland made a poor decision and drafting the wrong guy and it is just that simple. Oden has had back issues, knee issues, and all kinds of issues in high school and college. Do not expect the injuries to just come to a halt now that he is in the NBA. (There is no Shaman in the NBA.) The NBA is a a more physical, longer season with the most athletic basketball players on planet Earth. As "big boned" as Oden is, his body is like an object from the store Coach House (a craft store)- he is FRAGILE... a soft piece of science matter.

For example, your wife gets in seven car accidents. That is not bad luck. She is just a bad driver. She may deny it, but she is wrong. It is an example of mediocre people validating their lack of success. That being said, Oden does not have to be a 25 and 10 guy every single night on the basketball court. If Oden averages 12 and 10 it would be considered a good career. To argue that Oden just has bad luck is just silly.

Meanwhile that "other guy," Kevin Durrant, has other issues. Durrant has had slowing down issues. He is scoring at will right now for the Oklahoma City Thunder. Durrant is averaging 26 points and 6 rebounds a game. He is the fourth best scorer in the NBA at the moment behind Dwayne Wade, Lebron James, and Kobe Bryant (good company).

Do not worry Portland. Your team is fine without Oden. Your currently fifth in the West and you still have a premier scorer in Brandon Roy (22 ppg). You also have one of the "deeper" benches in the NBA, including the likes of Joel Przybilla and Jerryd Bayless who are both coming along. Lastly, LeMarcus Aldridge is no pushover as a "big man" either (17 ppg 7 rpg). The Blazers are still a year or two away from being one of the premier teams out West. Not only did they make a bad move by not picking up anyone before the trade deadline, but they made the catastrophic decision of not drafting Kevin Durrant in the 2007 NBA Draft. (That is the real problem!)

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Number 1 Seed Predictions


You can also check out my ARTICLES on numonefan.com    >>> This happen to be a blog argument I started.

With just 3 weeks remaining until the best Sunday after the Super Bowl (Selection Sunday), it is now time for everyone to give their predictions on what four teams ARE going to get those lucky number 1 seeds.

Here are my predictions:

(1) Pittsburgh

Remaining Scehdule: @ Providence, @ Seton Hall, Marquette, Connecticut.

Pittsburgh may lose one of the two last games but it will be enough to get them into the field of 64 with a number one seed because the Big East is going to get two number ones.

(1) Connecticut

Remaining Schedule: @ Marquette, Notre Dame, @ Pittsburgh.

I see the Huskies winning the Big East Tournament and solidifying their number one seed that way because I think Pittsburgh will beat them (AGAIN) in Pittsburgh.

(1) Duke

Remaining Schedule: @ Maryland, @ Virginia Tech, Florida State, North Carolina.

My Bluedevils look as if they are going to rise to the occasion after beating Wake Forest Sunday Night (101-91). If Duke keeps playing the lineup they started last night (Elliot Williams, Jon Scheyer, Kyle Singler, Lance Thomas, and Miles Plumlee) I think Duke is going to be fine. However, the ACC tournament will decide who comes out of the ACC with a number one seed more than anything. Technically, Clemson and, of course, North Carolina can still be a number one seed (including Duke) if they lose one of their final regular season games and win the ACC Tournament in Atlanta, Georgia.

And my final number one seed goes to . . .

(1) Memphis

Remaining Schedule: @ UAB, Southern Mississippi, @ Houston, Tulane.

John Callipari's team has to play the number two and number three teams in Conference USA. Once they get by UAB on the road, which will be by far their toughest test in conference left, then it should be a breeze the rest of the way through the season. As long as they do not collapse in their conference tournament and win it, as they should, the Tigers will become that fourth and final number one seed come Selection Sunday.

YOUR THOUGHTS . . . !!!

Sunday, February 22, 2009

Mickelson Nearly Chokes Again


Phil Mickelson won the 2009 Northern Trust Open in Los Angeles, California Sunday in heroic fashion. After watching tee shots navigate all of over the course, Mickelson recovered with back-to-back birdies and a one-stroke lead ascending into the eighteenth tee box. Mickelson two-putted for par after draining a 6-footer and finishing 1-over 72. The lefty won for the 35th time on the job.

Mickelson is now 4-0 when leading the tournament by four strokes or more going into Sunday. However, can we say that Mickelson is just a bit overrated? In my mind, he has not maintained that edge he once had because he suffocates in the "big moments." He is an underachiever in major events, mostly because he looks as if he is frightened to be in the event the majority of the time (when Tiger is in the field).

To Mickelson's credit, he has won 3 Major Tournaments in the "Tiger Era," that in itself is a large accomplishment. However, Phil cannot close out tournaments because of his short game and putting. He has had difficulties throughout his career in knocking down "the shot."

Lastly, for a guy who has all kinds of excuses, I feel as if he should win more. If statistics matter that much, Mickelson, is without a doubt, is the number two rated golfer in the world. But I tend to think otherwise because every time I watch him in the field with Tiger, it seems as if he has a choke collar on... seriously.

Nonetheless, it was a great win for Mr. Mickelson at the Northern Trust Open in California this weekend. Although it might be his last win of the year, because Tiger Woods is back, Phil made a solid recovery after looking as if he was going to construct another piece of "choke" art. Congratulations on winning the tournament Phil Mickelson, my only advice to you; buckle your seat belt, get your 3-wood out (because your driver sails golf balls every which way but straight onto the fairway), and hammer away because you are in for a ride now that Tiger is back into the field of 187.

Saturday, February 21, 2009

Happy Birthday To Me :)


Happy Birthday to me! :) I am 19 years-old today and you know what that means right?... I'm going to be talking about Alex Rodriguez just one more time because it seems to be captivating my mind these days. You know it is interesting because Rodrriguez's press conference might have been one of the most awkward moments in Public Relations history. 

- MEMO TO A-ROD

Rodriguez hired three or four professional P.R. firms and a couple lawyers, which he probably threw around 300 grand for, and let me say this...it did not pay off Mr. Rodriguez. First of all you do not start an apology press conference with a four page short novel to read. Especially one that was written by a "wacko" public relations "dude." Another little hint Mr. Rodriguez . . . what the hell is up with you and your unforgettable lies, seriously.

First you lie to Katie Couric (CBS), then you lie to Peter Gammons of ESPN, then you lie about the whole Serena Roberts (Sports Illustrated Columnist) ordeal. Get serious A-Rod! The press conference was suppose to be your final coming out party to let it all go. Instead, you chose to LIE . . . once again. You were quoted for saying, "I was young and stupid and naive ... I was 23, 24, 25 years old." Ummmm slow down A-LIAR. You were 26, 27, and 28 years-old. Then you say well "we knew we weren't taking tic tacs." I mean come on then, you are telling me that you had no idea what the drug was, yet you let your cousin from the Dominion Republic inject you in the ASS with a drug you had no idea about . . . please. You knew what it was, hell you told us the name of the anabolic steroid in the press conference. Just a hint, do not use double standards in your life people, because they will make you look like a complete idiot. 

Finally, my favorite part of the entire conference. He brings God into the equation. I love when athletes do this because they know its a quick and easy shield. You see it is interesting because no one in the media will fire at the athlete when they bring God up, because that is just too personal, yet we all know that A-Rod and every other professional athlete who brings up God, it is just a easy "get away from the subject, I don't wunnna talk about it" kind of aspect. 

Well, just some thoughts I had . . . hope you enjoyed it . . . promise this is the last post for a while anyway about steroids and Alex Rodriguez, hell if it were not for players like Rodriguez and steroids we would have nothing to talk about in the Major Leagues and that is the 100 percent truth.

Thursday, February 19, 2009

Steroids Are Over Rated Drugs


Ok I promise this will be the last post but a good post about the steroid issue in Major League Baseball. Do you honestly think these "things" called steroids really do that much? A lot of people would disagree with me but in my opinion Barry Bonds is the "Home run King." 

Here is my point:

Steroids take what you have and elevates it. Players like Barry Bonds, Alex Rodriguez, and Mark Mcguire were already good before they came into the league. Steroids are not going to turn mediocrity into "superstar." They are not going to take your mail man and make him into David Ortiz of the Boston Redsox . . . seriously. For example, I can have plastic surgery but its not going to make me look as good as Tom Brady, the surgery is just going to make a better "me." 

Now say if just "one" girl got a major teeth whitening in Los Angeles, then that would elevate her status and make her go from a 6 to a 8 or 9. But if everyone gets their teeth whitened, then it does not make much of a difference and that is what steroids do these days. Anabolic steroids just do not make much of a difference because such a large amount of players have been accused of using them in today's society. If everybody gets their teeth whitened then it might make a girl who is already a 6 into maybe a 7 or 7 1/2. You get where I am going? Pamela Anderson can have big fake "hoo-has," but if every girl gets them, then Pamela is not so hot anymore because tons of women already have fake "hoo-has." 

Steroids do not just take you right to the Hall Of Fame in Cooperstown, New York. Listen, I have read articles where the scout who recruited Alex Rodriguez to the Major Leagues was shaking because he marked down the score - 80. DO you want to know what he wrote down after he wrote down Rodrgiuez's score? Here it goes . . . "Hall Of Fame tool." Seriously, get some perspective people "A-Fraud," "A-Roid," or whatever you want to call him, was already a superb player before he even entered the Major League Baseball Draft where he became the number one pick overall. Alex Rodriguez and Ken Griffey were the highest rated high school baseball players to ever come out of high school. Give them lots of credit. It's not like they were not talented and did something miraculous. 

FInally, if you cannot agree to a good extent, then you just have a moral issue. Everyone did drugs in the 70's. Yet, when somebody got caught doing drugs, then you got the typical - - "I can't believe yooooouuu would do that." Still yet, everyone did drugs. My point is these players already had the "playa mentality" in them before they even got to the league. 

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

2 Legends : 2 Birrrrfdays


After celebrating my best friend's (Andrew Sullivan) birthday last night and celebrating one of my own at the end of the week (Feb 21.), I remembered that today marked a historic day on the February calender. Jim Brown and Michael Jordan's birthday was today. Two "Gods" in their own right celebrating the same birthday. 

Lets start with Jordan, a guy who scored over 32,292 points, dropped 6,672 dimes, and had 5,633 assist after being the third overall pick in the 1984 NBA Draft. A six time NBA Champion (1991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1997, and 1998) and a five time MVP (1988, 1991, 1992, 1996, 1998). This 14 time NBA All-Star is one of the most prolific athletes to ever play any sport. He is the Tiger Woods of Golf and the Alex Rodriguez of baseball, he is Michael Jordan. He is one of only few people who you can be in your local grocery store in the check out line and turn around and see him on every single tabloid (GQ, Men's Health, S.I. ect...) Michael Jordan is one of the most popular if not the most popular athlete of all-time. Although he is a terrible front office guy for the Charlotte Bobcats and could not seem to get it straight on the baseball diamond (could not bat over .250 his entire year of baseball) ,  he has succeeded in most areas of life. . . never really "screwed up." Except he drafts players like Adam Morrison who cannot score a lick in the Association and Kwame Brown, who was an utterly disgusting draft selection for the Bobcats. Overall though . . . MJ= SUCCESS! Happy Birfday to the AIR-JORDAN!

Now to Jim Brown,

Brown turned 73 today. Brown rushed for over 12,312 yards (5.2 ypc) and 126 touchdowns. The guy is forever known as one of the true talents to ever go through Cleveland. Go watch NFL Films if you have not seen this guy play people. Talk about one of the best to ever play the game at his position. Woooo weee, he could run the mother $^@%**! ball. Brown is another one of those guys who just "got it." Never really got in trouble, did a lot of Hollywood acting post football career. Brown now spends his days working with kids in the gang scene in Los Angeles California and Cleveland through Amer-I Can (a program that Brown invented, I read about it, very moving). Anyways, Brown is another successful American athlete that we can all rejoice and admire. Happy birrrrfday to the eighth all-time leading rusher in the National Football League. Of course here is the negative  - - - 

 “Athletes need to represent more than that just getting a big contract and lots of endorsements,” he says. “Take Michael Jordan. To me, he’s full of bull. He’s hiding his true self. All he cares about is getting ahead, being popular and enjoying the wealth of this country. Same with Kobe Bryant. For them, it’s all about making money and doing all the commercials.” JIM BROWN . . . ouch!?!?

Monday, February 16, 2009

Family Reunion


The 2009 NBA All-Star game in Phoenix ended in a cinderella "happily ever after" story after Kobe Bryant (L.A. Lakers) and Shaquille O'Neal (Phoenix Suns) shared Co-MVP honors. Hollywood really played their cards right on this one huh? Well, not exactly, if you look at the votes, Kobe and Shaq split 5-to-5, therefore they got it right. However, in my mind wasn't Chris Paul the West most valuable player (13 assist 12 points). 

Nonetheless, Kobe Bryant did not do one thing last night that he would not try/do in a regular season game. All these players (Dwight Howard, Lebron James, ect.) try to bring this hip hop flash crap . . . with Kobe you get what you get and that is SEXY. 

The truth is, Kobe's game is so artistic and pretty, that sometimes, we do not realize what is happening right in front of us. A lot of guys try and trick out there game for the All-Star game, not KOBE tho. For a player to average 27 points, 5 rebounds, and 5 assist this season, Kobe, as we all know, is just so so sweet to watch. Who cannot fall in love with this guy "at first sight." When people in New York City (clear across the country from L.A.) are chanting M.V.P. when Kobe is at the free-throw line tells you just how much people like watching this guy play the game of basketball. Well that is enough said for this post, I think we al know I am a KOBE lover. I mean the guy said he would have went to Duke University if he could not come straight out of Lower Merion High School (P.A.). Now that is a smart guy . . . . 

OVERALL NBA All-Star Weekend Rating : 6 1/2

Saturday, February 14, 2009

What Works & What Doesn't


As I yawned really big this morning I had no idea that the day would bring me the joy of playing a basketball game with West Virginia Small Forward, Dee Proby. I also did not know that the thought of me posting a random February NFL post about Vince Young and Matt Linert. Oh well here it goes...

I am giving Matt Leinert a SHOT. Vince Young got his shot in Tennessee and he proved that he is one hell of a back-up or one hell of a "put him in there for 5 plays a game" kinda guy. Young is not a starting quarterback in the National Football League. Not only has his play proven that he cannot make it as a franchise quarterback, but his body language on and off the field does not coincide with the Titans. 

Vince Young is a low wonder league scorer. At the University of Austin at Texas, Young was the celebrity, in Tennessee he has a hard time being the "celeb." He needs a TON of work to become an influential part of any team in the Naitonal Football League. Hell, Young may be the 3rd string quarterback come 2009 if Tennessee decides to sign Kerry Collins, who got them to an NFL best-record 13-3. Chris Simms might just be the 2nd string guy that Jeff Fisher goes to if Collins were to have injury issues. I understand Young is a multi-talented athlete and he got the Titans to the playoffs...(once), but he is not your every Sunday field general. Listen, I would never make a four our musical on a sausage company nor do I know what cars will look like in 20 years, but I know that the musical will NOT sell and cars are not going to have cup holders (NOT)! Seriously, ask yourself this people and the argument is over . . . what works and what doesn't in the NFL. Hmmm....thought so...

Now for Matt Leinert. People, you have to give this guy a chance. I understand being at the Univeristy of SO CAL was easy for Leinert and he will have to overcome that situation, but unlike Young, Leinert was a pocket passer at USC. He was a pass first guy where as Young was not. I think Arizona should give the guy the opportunity. He has only played 11 games in the NFL. "Greatness" does not happen over night and 11 games in the NFl is like shooting a basketball for the first time about 20 times. Your not going to put half of them in the basket. I cannot wait until Leinert proves people wrong down the road. 3-4 years from now, your going to be saying, you were right Mr. McCracken (Jay Mac). :)

Thursday, February 12, 2009

"Alright Boys....Take A BREATHER"


NBA All-Star Weekend has finally approached us and we can finally say its BASKETBALL FEEEVA/SEASON! My preseason predictions are looking solid. The Los Angeles Lakers vs. Cleveland Cavaliers in the 2009 NBA Finals prediction looks great . . . I will post all my preseason predictions at the end of this post which are also on my old blog (jmccracken.blog.com). I'm purrrrty accurate so far. :)

Here are my thoughts now that we are half way through the basketball season....

-BEST TEAM 

With or without Andrew Bynum, I think the Los Angeles Lakers are the team to beat in the National Basketball Association - - bar none. They have talent from their starting five alllll the way to the last part of their bench >>> Josh Powell, Luke Walton, and Sasha Vujacic. I understand they are not a defensive oriented team without Andrew Bynum in the line up but who cares when you can score points like the Lakers do, plus they still have great defenders in Kobe Bryant, an All-NBA-Defensive Player himself, Trevor Arriza, and even Lamar Odem. Plain and simple...this is the team to beat in the second half. L.A. cannot be beaten in the Staples Center and thats where teams are going to struggle.

- DISAPPOINTMENTS

The Chicago Bulls (23-29) have been a bit of a disappointment for me because I have them as the 4 seed in the Eastern Conference Playoffs, and right now they are 10th in the East, out of the playoffs. This Bulls team is virtually the same team they have had now for four years . . . and I figured this was the year for the Bulls to make at least a little run. I know Vinny Delnegro is a new coach and its a change of scenery, but its the NBA. The "Windy City" got a hell of draft pick in Derek Rose, and they are COPY of the past five to six years. They have six players averaging 10 points or more, and 9 guys that are playing 20 minutes or more game. The Bulls do not lack talent, they lack too much "I wanna be the STAR" people. If they can adjust their roster within the next week (Trade Deadline), then the team has a good chance to make a run.

Another disappointment in my book would be another Eastern Conference team, the Charlotte Bobcats and I am a HUGE HUGE Larry Brown fan. I am not going to go "irate" on Coach Brown, but I am going to go crazy about the front office and Michael Jordan. Look at his recent draft selections- Adam Morrison and Kwame Brown. I am not even going to say anything, watch those guys play (ummm) when they do . . . they speak for themselves. I liked the trade from Phoenix, acquiring Raja Bell and Boris Diaw will help the team's defensive struggles. They have two guys that are walking double-doubles in Sean May and Emeka Okafor if they could ver stay healthy. I do not think this team makes a run at all . . . who does with a rookie point guard these days???

-SURPRISES

Well I talked bad about the East so you know I have to go to the West for my surprises. The Denver Nuggets (36-17) are my BIGGEST surprise. Head Coach George Karl looks as if he might have a Championship caliber team this year. I'm on their bandwagon at least . . . even if Karl is a CAROLINA boy. But this team is extraordinary because they are deep, talented, and well-coached. J.R. Smith has done a fabulous job after taking over the "move out of the way, I'm going to score" guy, Allen Iverson. Smith is averaging 13 points a game but he is one of those guys who can explode for 30 on almost any given night. Of course, we know about All-Star Carmelo Anthony, but how about this Nene' dude. 15 points 8 boards a game . . . where the hell did he come from. Oh yeah, he's a Brazialian . . . duh? I did not know that Brazil was known for having anybody even capable of putting a round ball in a hoop. I thought they only kicked the round ball with black squares into a net. Seriously though, Nene' has been outstanding for the Nuggets this season. All I have to say is  . . . he is just a PLAYYYA. The Nuggets are,yes I said ARE a top echelon team. Borrowing no injuries, they will get deep. Main reason = experience point guard that just knows the game = Chauncey Billups. 

NBA All-Star Weekend Predictions 

Rookie Sophomore Game- Rookies are due, they have not won this game in 6 years. The sophomores are going in trying to win 7 straight. I think this rookie class is a more talented and more athletic.

Skills Competition- Tony Parker  . . . he is the best fit for this competition and the best point guard in this group. 

3-Point Shootout - Jason Kopono, there is no one else I trust.

Slam Dunk Contest- Dwight Howard . . . there has only been 2 guys to win it back-to-back, Michael Jordan in 1987 and 1988 and Jason Richardson in 2002 and 2003. Dwight will be lucky number 3. I do not go against Super Heros like Superman. HA!

All-Star Game- WEST . . . this game basically alternates every other year from EAST to WEST. Love Kobe. Love Yao. Thats all you need to really win this type of game.

IN OR OUT - List of teams that I think will be in the playoffs or out of the playoffs. 

Milwaukee Bucks- OUT (As much as I like Big Bucks and I cannot lie . . . without BIG REDD, this Milwaukee team is in trouble).

New Jersey Nets- OUT (Devin Harris is a great point guard "to be." Too old and not enough commodity. 

Chicago Bulls- IN (Of course I have the Vinny Delnegro's Bulls in, I had them as 4th seed. The Bulls may not be the 4th seed come playoff time, but they will get in.) 

Utah Jazz- IN. (This is my team from here on out. Not only do I think the Jazz are in, I think they will be anywhere as high the 4th or 5th seed in the West come playoff time. When Carlos Booze aaaaaaaaand AK 47 gets back in that lineup . . . LOOK OUT!)

New Orleans Hornets- IN. (Too good not to get in the playoffs. But if they do not get their ACT together ((TYSON CHANDLER)) then they will not go anywhere.)

Phoenix Suns- OUT. (If they make a trade who knows. . . but I think the 8 seeds that are IN right now, are going to be in when its all said and done. Dallas is improving and the Hornets should get their with their ridiculous talent. Phoenix is old and they cannot seem to mesh together. The Suns are good but not good enough.)

PRESEASON PREDICTIONS from (jmccracken.blog.com)

Thursday, October 30, 2008

Final NBA Predictions

If you have not seen my NBA preview post - - - they were written Wednesday, October 22. Scroll down and you will see what I have to say about the East and West. These are the FINAL predictions for the 2008-09 NBA Season.  

WEST                                                                           EAST 
1 seed- Los Angeles Lakers                   1 seed- Boston Celtics
2 seed- New Orleans Hornets              2 seed- Cleveland Cavaliers
3 seed- Houston Rockets                       3 seed- Detroit Pistons
4 seed- Utah Jazz                                   4 seed- Chicago Bulls 
5 seed- San Antonio                               5 seed- Orlando Magic
6 seed- Phoenix Suns                            6 seed- Philadelhpia 76er's
7 seed- Dallas Mavericks                       7 seed- Miami Heat
8 seed- Denver Nuggets                        8 seed- Toronto Raptors

EAST - Just missing the playoffs- Washington Wizzards, Atlanta Hawks, and Milwaukee Bucks.
WEST- Just missing the playoffs- Sacramento Kings, Los Angeles Clippers, and Golden State Warriors.


Defensive Player of The Year- Marcus Camby (Los Angeles Clippers)
Scoring Title- Kobe Bryant/Lebron James - - - (split)
Most Valuable Player- Kobe Bryant
Eastern Conference Champion- Boston Celtics vs. Cleveland Cavaliers - Cleveland
Western Conference Champion- Los Angeles Lakers vs Utah Jazz - Los Angeles 
NBA World Champion- Los Angeles Lakers
Coach of The Year- Jerry Sloan (Utah Jazz) (Do not be surprised if Rick Carlisle of the Dallas Mavericks)
6th Man of The Year- Too early ... but when Manu Ginobli is back...he could win it back to back.
ROOKIE OF THE YEAR- This is so hard to choose from. If Oden is healthy who knows. I am going out on a limb and taking either KEVIN LOVE or OJ MAYO- both can do wonders for their team.

PEACE I WILL BE IN CT this weekend for the WVU football game.
Posted by Jay Mac at 20:41:45

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Of Great Value...$$$


Alex Rodriguez is one of the most polarizing guys in sports. He is in the company of Tiger Woods, Michael Jordan, and Michael Phelps. A-Rod is one of few people that you can be in your local grocery store - - in the checkout line - - turn around - - and see him on GQ, Men's Health, S.I., and People Magazine. He's a wlaking HEADLINE! His character of a celebrity is just as polarizing as any athlete in the world. Recently, Mr. Rodriguez confessed of using illegal substances. I am here to say this....

Listen people!!! Rip Alex Rodriguez all you want, he is going to sell a TON of tickets this coming summer. With a demoralizing economy, franchises like the San Diego Padres, Kansas City Royals, and the Pittsburgh Pirates are praying that A-Rod is on their schedule. He creates great animosity. I like SPORTS (obviously). But I am no longer that numbers guy . . . who cares about the numbers . . . thats all baseball is to the bearded old men out there. WHO CARES! Sports is nothing more than entertainment to fans. Thats all it is, its entertainment with a story. 

For a sport that is just dying, Alex Rodriguez is GREAT VALUE to the sport. Like it or not NERDS, its the truth. Sorry number nerd, you want some numbers . . . I will give them to you, number nerd . . . First Season in Major League Baseball, A-Rod had 36 home runs, 123 RIBBIES, and batted 360. COMPARED to last season where he hit less home runs (35) and less RIBBIES (103), and batted just .302. Get my point NUMBER NERDS > > > the kid has got game. Hell, he said he was taking them from 2001-03. In 2003 the guy batted .298. (He had a total of 156 home runs from 2001-2003.)

Lastly, my favorite point is that this story that broke had 4 SOURCES! You couldn't find 4 sources if I got slapped in the face at a WAL-MART. Seriously, we all know he did it before he admitted that he did take anabolic steroids or any kind of illegal substance. Another last though, I want to know who the HELL the other 103 people are in this report. If the Players Association ever releases those, I will be extremely happy. I am thoroughly happy that Alex came out and accredited his accounts of using illegal substances. 

"I’d be all for the 104 positives being named, and the game moving on if that is at all possible. In my opinion, if you don’t do that, then the other 600-700 players are going to be guilty by association, forever." Curt Schilling (38pitches.com)

Saturday, February 7, 2009

Step Up : Round 2


The Cleveland Cavaliers are 23-0 at home this season, but when the Los Angeles Lakers come into Quicken Loans Arena tomorrow it might just be a different story. L.A. is coming off a big win over the defending World Champion Boston Celtics in an overtime thriller Thursday night (110-109). L.A. is also 5-0 on their 6 game road trip. The truth is, Coach Phil Jackson and the Lakers are still a legitimate NBA Finals team without Andrew Bynum. Bynum was a defensive machine inside and his presence will be missed, however, L.A. can still win a lot of games by scoring the basketball. They still have the closest player to Michael Jordan in Kobe Bryant and they are an experienced team. I did think it was a dumb move to get rid of Vladimir Radmanovic for Adam Morrison for the fact that Morrison is not that productive of a player in the first place. The kid from Gonzaga was averaging a "SOFT" 4.5 points in Charlotte, at least with Radmanovic you get DEFENSE. Morrison is a hair cut away from falling on his face in the NBA.

Nevertheless, Kobe Bryant and the Los Angeles Lakers will upset the Cavs tomorrow and here is why >>>>> The 4 POINTS:

1. Kobe vs. Lebron- the number 2 and number 3 top scorers in the NBA right behind Dwayne Wade. There is no question that Kobe is the closest player we have seen to "THE" M JAY himself. He is also the BEST player in the National Basketball Association ... don't argue. Bron Bron is dominant in his own way but Kobe shoots the lights out of the nylon ...  before you argue  . . . (did you watch the Celts Paul Pierce try to lockdown Kobe) ya it aint happenin . . . sorry. Bron Bron will get his points and rebounds tomorrow but I'll still take Kobe. Bron Bron you have improved your shot this year but your still shooting 26 percent from behind the arc . . . not a complete player. 

2. Phil Jackson vs. Mike Brown- 9 NBA Titles for Phil while Mike has a big fat ZEYYYRO in his column of championships. hmmm.... NUFF said bout that topic.

3. Bench- Advantage Cavs in this aspect of the game because they got Zydrunas Ilgauskas back in the lineup. Ilgauskas is a 13 point 7 rebound a game guy + he's another 7 footer that the Cavs can put in there to take up a lot of space. The game will come down to the bench because we know that Lebron and Kobe are going to get their points. Will Josh Powell or Trevor Arizza step up or will Cleveland be able to send someone out there and guard Fisher and Kobe. 

4. Point Guard Matchup- Derek Fisher vs. truly, the man of Cleveland this season, Mo Williams. Mo Mo has made this team a Championship contender. He is that second scorer that Cleveland needed. As far as I am concerned, I still give L.A. there credit, I mean they have Pau Gasol and Lamar Odem, two players that are phenomenal - - just inconsistent at times. (haha).

Finishing up, the Los Angeles Lakers will fly back to LAX Airport as winners - - with, still, the best record in the National Basketball Association. Not saying that the Cavs are a BAD team whatsoever, because that is not the case I am making. I have/HAD the Cavs vs. the Lakers in the 2009 NBA Finals . . . check it out on my old blog (jmccracken.blog.com). 

In conclusion, the first game between these two teams was more or less an ugly one. L.A. thumped Cleveland 105 to 88 in the Staples Center. Both Lebron and Kobe did not have their best games to say the least. Both shot awful but ADVANTAGE Kobe because he had 12 assist to go along with his 20 points.Its just an early February game between two teams on opposite sides of the country. Both of these teams will be there when it comes to playoff time so who really cares who wins . . . I'm just ready for a CLASSIC Lebron Kobe matchup . . . and rooting for DRAMA!  

Friday, February 6, 2009

Weekend Small Talk...


Oh jeesh, where do I start. I guess I can start off by saying that my weekend/Friday has already been a boisterous one bar none. My boi Jarrod Ramos and I enjoyed a fantastic dinner at the "OLIVE GARDEN" tonight and met a fine looking waitress in Skylene Montgomery. Yes, that is correct I have it right here on my receipt for proof. Kenny Chesney's ex-girlfriend and Miss West Virginia 2008 was our waiter (I could go on-and-on with stories about that). After Olive Garden Ramos and I had the privilege of hosting the "Sportspage" on U92 FM for 3 hours.....talk about a blast. But I am here to talk Los Angeles Laker basketball and the big weekend that is ahead of us.

The Celts Laker game last night was a fun watch on TNT to say the least. It felt as if I was watching a Finals game in June as I sat in my bed eating my wonderful PROGRESSO LIGHT VEGEY SOUP. What a great week of basketball in general for the NBA. Of course we got to see the New York Knickerbockers go 0-3 against the 3 best teams in the NBA (Lakers, Celtics, and Cavs). The city of New York was calling it dream week (keep dreaming, cuz ya aint gettin Bron Bron in 2010) I called it more like HELL WEEK! New York gave up an average of 114 points through the three game stretch and with that came MVP chants for Kobe Bryant. Get serious Knick fans. I am glad you respect the game of basketball but you cannot tell me if Al Harrington or anybody in that matter was in the running for MVP that they would get "MVP" chants in Los Angeles, California. Cuz it just would not happen period. It goes to show that James Dolan and the Knicks front office has just got everything all messed up. Granted, I will give them the benefit of the doubt that they brought in Mike D'Atoni, an outstanding coach. I know he never proved himself in Phoenix but I have to say that the Spurs had a lot to do with that. It seemed as if he just couldn't get over that hump and I think a change of scenery can only be beneficial.

Back to the game last night . . . what is going to shut East Coast bias people up . . . the Lakers beat you once again Boston. This time, without Andrew Bynum, a defensive machine. I still think Los Angeles is the best team in the NBA without Bynum because they still have Lamar Odem and Pau Gasol - - two extremely good basketball players. They will miss his presence inside and I understand that. The Lakers were 5th in defensive efficiency before Bynum got hurt. Now they have went 5-0 on this East Coast trip but giving up 100 points plus in each contest. I think this will be settled out Sunday afternoon when the Lakers close out their trip on the coast in Cleveland. Bron Bron, who recently got his triple-double taken away from him that he had in MSG, has his team 23-0 at home going into this game. My prediction after Sunday - - their record will be 23-1. Trust me, they are bound to lose a couple in Quicken Loans Arena. 

Another big event this weekend is the Pro Bowl in Hawaii (the last year it will be there for a while). Why do I mention this? Well, this game should always be in Hawaii because its for the players. The fans get enough. They get training camp, they get the regular season, they get the post season, and I say do not let them have the Pro Bowl unless they are rich. Poor people quit whining that you cannot afford to travel to Hawaii ever year. Stay home and do something productive. This game is meant for the players and their families and it should be. Its a vaycay that the players should get to enjoy. There is a reason why they put these guys up in a hotel one hour away from Honolulu . . . to get them away from people and the media so they can enjoy time with their families. That being said, it looks to be an interesting fun filled Pro Bowl. I am in a disagreement when it comes to Miami next year, one week from the Super Bowl. STUPIDITY Roger Goodell (who I love). 

Well until next time folks, stay warm in this nasty enviroment, and please feel free to comment. Stay skinny America (unlike J Simp.) ha :)~ 



Tuesday, February 3, 2009

B-ig J-iant FLOP


You can't teach size can ya? Seems as if everyone says that these days. Well I will tell you somebody who needs to learn the game of basketball whether he is a seven footer or not and that is Ohio State Freshman Center, B.J. Mullens. Have you watched this guy play?...what a disgrace for a 5-star college basketball recruit. 

Mullens averaged 26 points and 15 rebounds his Senior year of high school in a mediocre High School that only had one state championship and that was in 1986 for women's volleyball team. How could Thad Matta, a well-respected coach in the collegiate game, recruit a kid between their 8th and 9th grade year and offer them a scholarship, seriously. Well, that is what Matta did to get this guy who is just another one of those McDonald's All-American flop uh dooozies. Mullens is averaging a whopping 8.9 points per game to go along with a hella crazy rebounding game (4) I repeat four friggin rebounds a game...haha. 

And this guy is one and done? If I am a General Manager in the National Basketball Association, I am giving the cold shoulder until Mullens can prove something. Those stats I just listed are in the Big Ten conference. EHHHHH! Put this kid on a Big East or ACC team and he would be the 7th or 8th man. Seriously, this is a post for you Mr. Mullens . . . stay in school for AT LEAST two more years. You need an insurmountable amount of teaching. 

Now you can tell me that statistics do not mean anything and that is true in some cases. For example, if you watched the Connecticut game last night versus Louisville, you saw that Hasheem Thabeet can alternate a shot just by his presence. He is a walking double double when he walks onto the court every single night. Mullens is just the opposite. Mullens is the guy the opposing team tells their player to ATTACK ATTACK ATTACK! 

That being said, B.J. Mullens needs a lot of improvement because I do not see any G.M. or President that is going to want him at the next level. Half the commentators on ESPN (yes I do harp on the 4 letter network at times) drool over Mullens . . . please please do not kid yourself. WATCH THE GUY PLAY! Yuck - Ew -       The guy is a straight up MILK -"DUD"

 Stay skinny America (Unlike J Simp.) :)-

Sunday, February 1, 2009

Holmes, Sweet Holmes


Super Bowl XLIII was nonetheless an unforgettable watch for the 90 million viewers across the World and it will go down as one of the most memorable Super Bowls of all-time. All because, another one of those "THE CATCH" play happened thanks to Pittsburgh Steelers wide out, Santonio Holmes who capped off a two-minute drive with a remarkable catch in the back right of the end zone to make it a 27-23 game in favor of "The Steel City Team." 

The sweet, tasteful Super Bowl victory made the Pittsburgh franchise the winningest franchise in Super Bowls with 6, putting them in front of the San Francisco 49er's and the Dallas Cowboys who both have 5 Vince Lambardi Trophies. 

The key to this game was Big Ben Roethlisberger.  However, this was by far NOT I repeat NOT on of the best games ever! There were 18 penalties...eww. Get serious, it was pretty sloppy and mostly dominated by one team (the Steelers). Go back and watch Sugar Ray's boxing matches. There were several where people would say "oh wow, Sugar won that round!" ummm NO Sugar had a great last 15 seconds ... thats because he would FINISH unlike any other. The Pittsburgh Steelers FINISHED and that is what made it so dramatic. It is not even in the top 5 Super Bowl games of all-time. Great finish, not the prettiest game whatsoever. Now back to "BIG BEN," what an unbelievable quarterback. The Most Valuable Player in this game was "BIG BEN" not Santonio Holmes...seriously. No offense Holmes, great catch, pretty good game (9 receptions 131 yards, and a spectacular touchdown) but it starts with the quarterback. 

Let me put it real clear and simple. The Arizona Cardinals sent 5 or more at Roethlisberger 10 times last night. "BIG BEN" went 10-10 with a quarterback rating of 138. He is the opposite of Tony Romo. He wins in December and January and he is elite when the pressure is on. Against the blitz, Roethlisberger, in the regular season, had a quarterback rating 60. HOWEVER, in the post season he had a quarterback rating against the blitz of 107!  OPPOSITE of Romo. Willie Parker was quoted saying that, "he is the Michael Jordan of our team." Yeah Willie, he is. He became just the second active quarterback to win two Super Bowls under the age of 27....remarkable. One last rating stat . . . regular season Big Ben had a quarterback rating of 74. Post season, "BIG BEN" had a 130 quarterback rating. You get the point don't ya Cowboy fans...sorry. 

And to those who thought it was poorly officiated game....pleeeeeeeeease do not kid yourself. Arizona got break after break just like the Steelers. Let me make my point....there were a total of 18 penalties as mentioned. The Cardinals were called for 11 of them. 6 of the penalties called were holding calls which you could virtually call on every single play on Karlos Dansby because he was simply overwhelmed by Defensive Player of the Year, James Harrison who had the Super Bowls longest play ever (100 yard interception return). 

Overall, it was one heck of a Super Bowl. It got a whoppppping number rating ....43! And that is expected of course. The commercials were ok. Bud Light over did it . . . and I did not particularly like any of them even though, my boi, Conan O'Brien was in one of them. The Doritos commercial was by far the best/funniest...and I think America agrees :) . The half time show was mediocre. Bruce Springsteen worked the stage and I thought it was a damn good performance. I give this Super Bowl a fairly good rating. Until next years Super Bowl . . . stay skinny America (unlike Jessica Simpson) ehh.