Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Tuesday Tantrum - - Vol. 16


After a couple weeks off, I am rejuvenated, refueled, and more anxious than Regis is to get off the set of "Regis and Kelly" to write my weekly Tuesday Tantrum column.

So many ludicrous events have happened since I have been gone. From the NBA Draft to ... hold on ... (Yes, I am going to say it) soccer.

Lets start off by talking soccer so I can just get it over with -- sorry soccer fans.

CONFEDERATION CUP:

As an American, it was nice to be a USA soccer fan for 24 hours. But now its over. I am not going to bang on soccer because I do think its much bigger than the NHL, however, did you watch this Confederation Cup Final?

Lets start with my three complaints.

1) The horns being played by South American fans (who were rooting for the U.S.A.). The horns literally sounded like a swarm of bees. I would take the over on 50 percent of America who (most likely) muted their televisions. This was a headache and unnecessary.
2) South American fans. Not only did they blow their horns like a symphony that is opening for the Pope's to speak, but they rooted for the Americans. This was completely out of control because they only rooted for one simple reason. They cheered for the USA Team because Brazil had beaten them in the semifinal game. "Seesh." "Jeesh." No words can describe how this should make American soccer fans feel. What a low way of being nice. This is like Lauren Conrad going to Spencer and Heidi's ("SPEIDI") wedding because she just wanted to show the public how nice she can be... yet faking being happy.

3) There is no specific way of describing how I felt about the 2-0 blown lead by Team USA. Tim Howard may have not been able to save the last (game winning) goal, but the first two were slightly easy. How do you let Brazil score in the first minute of the second half when all the momentum, all the energy, all the power, was on Team USA's side and they absolutely blew it!!!

NBA DRAFT:

Lets start with the winners.
San Antonio Spurs- How does a team with no first round draft picks land DeJuan Blair!?!? (That deserved a combo of exclamation and question marks... don't argue). They already traded for Richard Jefferson -- a "primetime" athlete and scorer. The Spurs are still old and have injury prone issues, but this makes them younger and more reliable. Blair is to the Spurs as Kendrick Perkins is to the Boston Celtics. But he could be a Glen "Big Baby" Davis.

Chicago Bulls- Not to be hypothetical, but IF the Bulls can sign both Ben Gordon and Luol Deng, they are going to be an absolute gem of a team. I thought drafting James Johnson (SF- Wake Forest) and Taj Gibson (SF- USC) were fantastic picks. They got "what could be," two really good backup small forwards that are versatile.

Losers- Insert here: Minnesota right? No. Not worth mentioning. We all know they totally flopped by selecting two point guards in Ricky Rubio and Johnny Flynn (who I adored in this draft). Instead, I'd have to say that the loser of this draft was not a team, it was a player (you could see this from zillions of miles away) Blake Griffin. He is going to a franchise that is ran by the most pathetic GM/Head Coach in the history if the NBA -- Mike Dunleavy."What do you call an NBA coach who's 194-298 with the Clips?" A: "Still employed!!! The guy is a mess, the franchise is a mess, and the team's history is a scale 10 earthquake still rattling. Good luck Blake, history is not on your side.

No comments:

Post a Comment