.jpg)
In collapsing economic times, Ford Field is the destination of this year’s NCAA Men’s Final Four. Yes, finally something to celebrate for the state of Michigan and the city of Detroit.
.jpg)



Yes, another Alex Rodriguez story. But this time, we are NOT just talking about those pathetic lethal injections that half of baseball uses. No. This particular article is going to focus on the disastrous timeline of A-Rod's off-season mess.
A-Rod is making Andy Dick look like a role model. Lindsey Lohan called Rodriguez and said "shame on you for making celebs look so bad" (haha).
What a turmoil of events. Have you ever witnessed a more tragic off-season than Mr. Rodriguez is having at the time? First Madona. Then, the tell all book. Next, the needle comes into play (steroids). Recently, Details.com put out photos of him kissing himself in the mirror. Now, Madam Spitzer says she had a relationship with Rodriguez. This was also known as "The Call Girl Ring" situation.
I'm not an idealist. I'm a realist (Just like "my boi" Colin Cowherd). All the happenings mentioned above are not that bad. But in life, you have to avoid the BIG mistake. Take out the steroids, and Alex Rodriguez is not that bad of a guy. You can make 30 little mistakes in your career, but just avoid the BIG one.
When your young and rich, you need someone to just say NO. You get these guys like Matt Linert and Mike Tyson, who make a lot of money in the early parts of their careers, and they just screw up. Lots of time, money, and fame can equal a negative in a hurry, especially in sports.

NCAA March Madness:
Oh, how sweet it is. The top three seeds from each region went 24-0. How is that for all of you who "love" the mid major junk ball. So far I give the NCAA an A+. The selection committee flat out nailed the seedings this year. There are no mid majors in the Sweet 16 and the lowest seed is one 12 seed (Arizona) which is a powerhouse basketball school anyway. Listen, the inequities and problems to this tournament have been teams playing close to home. Yes, the funds cannot be covered for some schools but Villanova playing in an arena that is literally two miles from their campus is NOT fair. UNC is 27-1 all-time in the state of North Carolina. Since 2004 Duke is 8-0 in the state of North Carolina. They are 3-5 in other states. Home court/state advantage is just not fair. But hey, you cannot always make sports truly fair. You cannot tell me that USC playing the Rose Bowl in their backyard is not an advantage. Heck, Oklahoma had to play Florida in Florida for this year's National Championship. Back to the selection committee, who flat out nailed the seeding as previously mentioned. The selection committee are like referees. You do not see when they are doing well. Lots of upsets usually means a lousy job by the selection committee. (Complaints always out weigh complements six to one according to a study in 2004.) You have to give credit to the committee because they watch so much basketball throughout the year. You are talking about guys who watch games like Sienna versus somebody I cannot pronounce in the middle of February. CBS was praying Cleveland State would lose to Wake Forest. What do you know... for the first time ever all the top three seeds advanced and the ratings were through the roof. I am not for the under dog. I am for the rich getting tax breaks. Either you have an agenda or your just not paying attention, these cinderella teams are not that good and that is why they are out of the tournament by the first weekend.
NFL:
There are three stories that agitated me today.
1. T.O. not showing up for a voluntary conditioning workout for his "newest team," the Buffalo Bills. Who honestly cares? T.O., as we all know, takes care of his body better than 90 percent of the players in the National Football League. The guy has a body that looks like he may eat one twizzler candy a year. I understand that this "voluntary" conditioning workout is not just about conditioning, it is about meeting your teammates and bonding with your quarterback if you are a wide receiver. I am sure Terrell Owens will be just fine trust me. The guy has a career in Men's Health Magazine after he retires and he has a bust in Canton, O.H.
2. The NFL's meeting are taking place in Claifornia this week and people are going out on a limb and griping about where the people are staying for these meetings. They happen to be staying in the St. Regis Hotel where the cheapest room is $400.00. Boo hoo people. The NFL is a well-run organization who makes a ton of money. These rooms are booked in advance and I do not care about how bad our economy is because the NFL, unlike most has the money to roll with. Seems like the rich get bashed every single day now that our economic times are bad when really they are the ones who are going to get us out of this mess because they have the money.
3. In the meetings, Roger Goodell, among others, discussed adding two more games to the NFL season. That would delete some of the pre-season games and make the season 18 games long. I dogged this idea as soon as I heard the addition. Honestly, what are the two most hated sports (though they do get a ton of attention and being in lots of money/people) -- that would be baseball and professional basketball. The National Basketaball Association and Major League Baseball get complaints all the time in the media about how long their season is. The NFL is a prolific league that makes a lot of money. I would argue that the league is the most well-run/organized/pure league there is out there in today's sporting world. NEWS FLASH NFL -- leave it be. Your sport is generating millions upon millions of dollars because the fans and media love the NFL... no need to change!
4. The Brady Rule
The NFL has already changed a rule during the meetings this week. THe rule implies: If you hit a quarterback below the knees, it will be a 15 yard penalty. The NFL is always tweaking rules that are unnecessary, but this time they added a brand new rule that was unnecessary. Now you are forced to NOT to hit the quarterback in the HEAD, BACK, and now BELO THE KNEES. Why do you not just put flags around there waist. I mean this is ridiculous. The quarterback position mine as well be called the "pre-madona" position. Get serious NFL committee. Just because Carson Palmer and Tom Brady went down does not mean you need to make a brand spanking new rule. I know that the quarterback is stationary and vulnerable, but it's FOOTBALL!

Daisuke Matsuzaka may get a lot of gripe as a pitcher from Japan but I am here to defend Mr. Matsuzaka. I am not your average baseball "guru." In fact, I can say that I watched maybe 25 to 30 full games the past two years and half of those I was probably there watching the game in person. There are too many baseball geeks out there and I honestly cannot stand the sport nearly as much as I use to when I was a child. But that is besides the fact...
I am here to defend Daisuke Matsuzaka because he gets too much crap from the fans and in some cases, the media. The only thing he has done is go 18-3 last year in a Boston Red Sox uniform. He was 4-1 in the playoffs. Right now he is 3-0 in the World Baseball Classic and he is not getting as much credit as he deserves. When credit is deserved, one shall get the legitimacy he or she deserves.
Daisuke or should I say, 2006 World Baseball Classic Most Valuable Player, went 3-0 in '06 with an ERA of 1.38. Yes, the "gyro ball" is here to stay. No, Daisuke is not going to give you a complete game, nor is he reliable passed the sixth inning but who cares? He wins 71 percent of his games dating back to when he was in high school in Japan. His average record as a professional in Japan was 16-6. When "ya" have game, "ya" got game. Daisuke is a flat out "playa." Give the guy some love and quit bashing him for absolutely nothing.
He's not going to give you more than seven innings but he is the kind of pitcher that can wiggle out of innings by forcing batters to hit ground balls. Get use to it, because Matsuzaka is going to be around for a while.
Oh, but he walks to many batter Mr. McCracken. Yes, Daisuke walks his fair share of batters but in 16 starts that he has walked three batters or more, he has an 11-1 record. Sit down and watch the guy pitch because he is flat out good.
When you have it, you have it. Daisuke has it, so get use to it baseball fans/nerds. I tend to love this guy. The "gyro ball" is going to be around for a long time to come.
The National Invitational Tournament, also known as either the "Not In Tournament" or what I like to call the "Not Important Tournament," is a complete joke. Most of us know that the NCAA Tournament is the real deal and the NIT is at least five steps down from being the "real deal." It's like the elementary kids that cannot play football after school with the middle school kids. The NIT is nothing but a pathetic tournament with sub-par teams that do not deserve another chance. Seriously, if you do not make the field of 65, then you should not deserve a chance to end your season on the so-called "good note," or "save your job" if you are a coach.
The tournament that they call the NIT is for the leftovers. Everyone knows the feelings when their mother says "you can eat leftovers for dinner tonight." Your gut tells you "ah man, I mine as well starve." The word "leftover" is nothing but negative and that is what the NIT is, a negative.
The tournament is for senior players who need that one last opportunity for a shot to strut there stuff to NBA scouts and win a game or two more. Who really cares? Hell, half of the coliseums are not even filled up. Kentucky had to play in their old gym because the Kentucky Boy's State Basketball Tournament was played in Rupp Arena. The tournament is so irrelevant that high school basketball has dibs over it. Give me a break would you? This tournament is to save the jobs of coaches and give another television contract to someone.
If anyone opposes, I would love to here your argument. The NIT is so unnecessary I do not know how someone even stays connected with it. I rather be invited to the tournament down from the NIT, the (CBI) College Basketball Invitational. What a joke the NIT is. It makes me feel like I am watching women's regular season basketball. The tournament does not even have a tournament feel. That's sad. The teams that are in this "NIT" do not belong anywhere but home. The coaches should be recruiting and players should be getting ready for summer practices. Instead, teams like New Mexico will travel 2,000 miles to the east coast and prove nothing.
Even if you win the tournament, do you really think people care? Oh boy, we get to hang a banner. Yeah, how sad is that... hanging a banner that says "We aren't important."
For those who think I am arrogant to say this just watch one of these games. Notre Dame still looks awful, lethal programs such as Kentucky can barely play on the same level as UNLV, and St Mary's was crying that they did not get into the tournament and they ended up being a two seed in the garbage NIT.
I prove my point. Case closed.

Jay Cutler:
Mr. Cutler has been in my weekly "Tuesday Tantrum" post for two straight weeks now. This guy just does not get "it." Cutler has played in a weak division and he has a 17-20 record in the "Mile High City." He is childish as far as I am concerned. Be a man Jay Cutler. You are going to implode a locker room that is ten defensive players away from a first round playoff exit. There are 32 quarterbacks in the NFL and I would say that Cutler is in that upper echelon of quarterbacks, but he ultimately cannot control his destiny like he is trying to do. Josh McDaniels is a brand spanking new coach in Denver and he probably feels like he is on a tight wire with this situation. Come on Jay. You know you already have NO SHOT at making a run in the playoffs... because your defense is weak. Cutler is an above average quarterback, but he needs to shut up or stand by his word and be a moron. Whoever gets this guy... good luck. Thought I do think the best team for Cutler, would be Minnesota. The Vikings play eight games in door... virtually nine because Detroit is in that division. It would be a friendly city for a quarterback.
NIT:
The Not Important Tournament starts up tonight. The NIT is unwatchable basketball, unless your team is in it and that is usually NOT good. You probably are already disappointed that your team is not playing Thursday or Friday, but instead you get another home game. This tournament is for teams who did not deserve to play in the tournament of 65, therefore, the teams should not get another chance. But the NCAA is kind enough to make this tournament for teams that have those seniors on them so they do not whine. They also make it for coaches on the verge of getting fired. The NIT is a chance of redemption. They should just call it the CHANCE TOURNAMENT. Instead, the seniors and coaches can feel even more embarrassed after they lose to some 10 seed in the NIT.
Cinderella:
Though you probably already filled out your bracket of 65, you may want to go back and make some changes. Obviously everyone knows about the 5,12 upset. This year, the committee made it so easy, I might not even choose a 12 over a 5. Arizona is your lock to beat Utah, the 5th seed in the Midwest bracket. So lets get away from the 12 over 5 and lets look at a 14 over a 3. The North Dakota State Byson has everything it takes to beat Kansas in the first round. The last time Kansas got upset, it was by a Byson. North Dakota State has five (count them) five fifth year seniors. Do not be surprised if Bill Self's young Jayhawk team is booted out the first day in Minneapolis.

Big East basketball is so over rated, but no one realizes it because 70 percent of the people on the east coast grew up loving the Big East. Take out USC from Pac 10 football, and the conference is whack. Take out Connecticut in Big East basketball and the conference is weaker than a crippled kid in a wheel chair.
You say: How the heck are you going to say that Jamie?
Well take 20 years for instance. The Big East has had six teams in the Final Four in two decades. Think about it. If you are 35 years old right now, you were 15 two decades ago. Now you have two kids, a mortgage, and you hate your wife. That is a long time ok. Six teams in the Final Four that is it. Can’t count Louisville in 2005 because they were in Conference USA. Can’t count Marquette in 2003. Can’t count the 1992 Cincinnati team. The Big East is essentially the most over hyped conference since Pac 10 football.
I find the Final Four a good barometer to go by. The ACC is on a completely different level then the Big East as far as I am concerned. The Big East gets one final four team in every four years. The ACC has had 20 in the last 20 years. Just in case you cannot count, that is one team every year the ACC is taking to the Final Four. Even the harassed Big 10 conference is better than the Big East. They have had 15 teams in the past 20 years in the Final Four.
From 1988-1995, the Big East got just one team in the Final Four. During the ten-year stretch (1988-1998) they only got two teams in the Final Four and they never won. What an embarrassment. Not only does the ACC and the Big 10 crush the Big East as a conference, but how about the SEC. The south does not even care about basketball yet the three out of five teams that have gotten to the Final Four have won and that is the SEC.
Six teams in 20 years, that is not enough to get as much attention on every sports channel like the Big East does night in and night out. Especially this year when its top heavy and teams like Notre Dame, who was in the top 10 and who has four seniors that play significant minutes, and Georgetown who are “flippy floppy” teams.
When the Big 10 conference has a better past, then you know your conference is just not that good. Take out UCCON and maybe Syracuse; the rest of the conference has been mediocre at best. Minnesota, who is 7th in the Big 10, beat the Big East Champion Louisville. “Get some facts and come back and see me.” The “Big Least” is a complete bust. The ACC and the Big 10 boat ride the Big East- it is a joke. The ACC has more Championships, more Final Fours, and a better winning percentage in the tournament.
All you east coast bias, sit down, shut up, and get some perspective.

NHL Rules
So the NHL actually found some “hype” to talk about this weekend. Congratulations to the league. At the General Manager’s Meeting on Monday in Naples, Florida, small committees were divided up to discuss if fighting should be taken out of the game. Is this an issue we should even debate about? Seriously… get real… once again the NHL equals gullible. What an obtuse piece of information to discuss. I’m not saying that the discussion is irrelevant, but for a league that is built on violence, how are you going to take fighting out? (That includes if the league just takes out headshots). So what, keep your kids away from watching it until age appropriate. You keep them away from Pg-13 movies and rated R movies, why can you not keep them away from a sport, especially a sport that it is at the bottom of the totem poll to the majority. (There is a reason why Barry Melrose is only on ESPN every other night with a 3-5 minute segment.) So I don’t want to hear it hockey fans… your sport is almost worthless if you take out the second best thing there is in hockey (malicious kane) next to scoring goals.
March Madness Changes?
Of course, it is that time of year again – everyone wants to discuss how we can make the bracket better by giving more teams a chance. Some say (Bob Knight says) expand it to 128 teams and you only have one extra game which would be the only way I would be oppose of changing it if I absolutely had to vote (but that is besides the fact). Others (Jay Bilas and Doug Gotlieb - - who I respect a ton) say that we should still do the 31 automatic bids but the automatic bid should go to the regular season champion in the conference and NOT the tournament champion. On top of that they want a computer system for the other 34 “at large” bids. Come on, what is literally the highest rated sporting event, next to the Super Bowl… hmm do not worry you’ll probably get the question right (it is a level 200 question on Jeopardy). Doo-doo-doo-doo-doo BOOP boo doo doo doo . . . ok time is up. “What is,” the NCAA Tournament! No need to change anything. The event is one of the most prolific sporting fans get in their goody bag of events throughout the year. March Madness is too good. Never chang anything that already works!
Squash Anyone?
As I am reading Forbes magazine online, I come across one of their most famous aspects to the magazine- a survey. According to Forbes magazine, Squash is the healthiest sport. The sport squash got an overall rating of a 22.5 out of 25. It is estimated that you burn over 500 calories playing a half hour of Squash. Cardio respiratory endurance was rated a 4.5 out of 5 and muscular endurance was measured a 5 out of 5. I’m not throwing a tantrum here, but who would of thought that a sport where one WHACKS a hollow ball into a wall at high impact would be classified as the most healthiest sport….hmm.
T.O. To Buffalo
I save the best for last. We all heard about the “BIG” signing in the NFL over the weekend. Yes, Terrell Owens is a Buffalo Bill or as his football fans are calling it, “retirement.” Seriously, does anyone think he will survive? I am a major T.O. supporter when critics bash him “most” of the “time.” However, not backing T.O. on this situation. You think T.O. drops balls in Dallas where it is 80 plus degrees everyday, wait until he goes to “O-H C-A-N-A-D-A” where it is – 10 below in week 3. Someone buying a Lamborghini in Montana is what this signing reminded me of…it just does not fit. T.O. does not have a quarterback that has proven himself but on the good side, he only has one year to work with. You would have to think that “Getcha Popcorn Ready Guy” would have to be on his best behavior… right? I think so.



ESPN's College Gameday heads into Morgantown, W.Va. as the No. 6 Louisville Cardinals (24-5, 15-2) take on the West Virginia Mountaineers (21-9, 10-7).
After the Mountaineer's bitter rival (No. 3 Pittsburgh Panthers) defeated the No. 1 Connecticut Huskies for the second straight time this season earlier today, Louisville will decide the final outcome of the Big East Tournament seeding. If Louisville wins, they lock up the number one seed in the conference tournament. On the other side, if the Mountaineers win, Pittsburgh will be the "numero uno" seed.
West Virginia lost a month ago to the Cardinals 69-63 in Freedom Hall. WVU's Da'Sean Butler had 23 points and 8 rebounds, while scoring 19 of those points in the second half. Meanwhile, the Cardinals Jerry Smith had 20 points.
The Cardinals will not only be targeting the top seed in the Big East Tournament, but they will be trying to impress the NCAA Tournament committee for a number one seed in the bracket of 64.
There is no question that Louisville is one of, if not, the deepest team in America. Louisville coach Rick PItino will go 11 deep if needed. If the Mountaineers want to be victorious they will have to shoot better from the field overall as a team. In the first meeting, Louisville shot 55 percent as a team from the field while West Virginia shot a poor 35 percent. The Mountaineers will not only need to shoot the ball better, but not turn the ball over. Louisville is one of the longest teams in the nation. The Mountaineers will need to handle the full-court pressure. The Cards also have one of the better defensive efficiency ratings in the nation and the team averages 8 steals per game.
Louisville has proven to be one of the elite teams in the Big East. The Cardinals should win this game and here is why: (1) Defense, (2) size advantage, and (3) they are much more experienced. WVU plays three freshman (Devin Eebanks, Daryll "Truck" Bryant, and Kevin Jones) who average 20 plus minutes a game. Including two (Eebanks and Bryant) who play over 25 plus minutes.
The Big East, College Gameday, showdown should be an intense matchup between two teams who are fighting for Big East seeding, bragging rights, and most of all, end the season with a win.

