
Daisuke Matsuzaka may get a lot of gripe as a pitcher from Japan but I am here to defend Mr. Matsuzaka. I am not your average baseball "guru." In fact, I can say that I watched maybe 25 to 30 full games the past two years and half of those I was probably there watching the game in person. There are too many baseball geeks out there and I honestly cannot stand the sport nearly as much as I use to when I was a child. But that is besides the fact...
I am here to defend Daisuke Matsuzaka because he gets too much crap from the fans and in some cases, the media. The only thing he has done is go 18-3 last year in a Boston Red Sox uniform. He was 4-1 in the playoffs. Right now he is 3-0 in the World Baseball Classic and he is not getting as much credit as he deserves. When credit is deserved, one shall get the legitimacy he or she deserves.
Daisuke or should I say, 2006 World Baseball Classic Most Valuable Player, went 3-0 in '06 with an ERA of 1.38. Yes, the "gyro ball" is here to stay. No, Daisuke is not going to give you a complete game, nor is he reliable passed the sixth inning but who cares? He wins 71 percent of his games dating back to when he was in high school in Japan. His average record as a professional in Japan was 16-6. When "ya" have game, "ya" got game. Daisuke is a flat out "playa." Give the guy some love and quit bashing him for absolutely nothing.
He's not going to give you more than seven innings but he is the kind of pitcher that can wiggle out of innings by forcing batters to hit ground balls. Get use to it, because Matsuzaka is going to be around for a while.
Oh, but he walks to many batter Mr. McCracken. Yes, Daisuke walks his fair share of batters but in 16 starts that he has walked three batters or more, he has an 11-1 record. Sit down and watch the guy pitch because he is flat out good.
When you have it, you have it. Daisuke has it, so get use to it baseball fans/nerds. I tend to love this guy. The "gyro ball" is going to be around for a long time to come.

No comments:
Post a Comment