Thursday, April 30, 2009

The NBA Playoffs Are Just The Annual Family Reunion


It happens once a year: Some people dread it, a lot absolutely love it, some try to avoid it completely by making irrational decisions, and more or less, it is just nice to get together and see new people that you thought never existed. Same people show up at the family reunion every year and that's what we see in the NBA playoffs. Same teams are usually there with a couple "new comers."

I'm talking about the National Basketball Association's version of "The Good Ol Family Reunion." Or simply the NBA Playoffs...

There is always that good looking couple. They might be the most arrogant but things are a little better for them than most. Things are a little easier. They're the ones who have been driving that Mercedes Benz around for a decade now. Their appearance stands out above anyone else (Los Angeles Lakers).

Then you have the family that put on a little weight since you last saw them. Their hard working, well-respected, but people tend to just be soft spoken when having a conversation with them. Their hard to get along with, but have tremendous children (Boston Celtics).

Of course you have the couple that has been married for several years, but were never successful. They do "ok," but lack that "it" quality. A "smidge" nerdy (Utah Jazz).

The (Portland Trailblazers) are the cute, young couple who has an unbelievable future. They're rising stars who are very neat/tidy. They want to be rich today, but have to wait just a little bit longer. Crazy future. 

Then there is the weird couple. Corky: Don't look like the other people. Their just odd (Houston Rockets)

The (Detroit Pistons) are that couple who has had an odd pass. They're the ones that knows a guy that knows a guy... that knows a guy. They always show up to the family reunion (never miss it). Some think they have had a shady past. They may have had a couple good years, but your never sure how "legal" it was. If they disappeared, you would be the least surprised.

Then there is the (Cleveland Cavaliers). They are the only single one at the reunion. He does well- started his own company. May move to New York because that's where "it" is... Everyone wishes they had his future. He's always excusing himself at dinner to take his Blackberry phone calls. 

Finally.... you have GRANDPA. He has great stories, but he's old and smells like hamsters. He's always the buzz killer at parties. Needs help in the bathroom. Humble beginnings, but won't be missed (no offense). It would not be the saddest day ever... the act was long and boring. Yes, I'm talking about the (San Antonio Spurs)

Tuesday, April 28, 2009


Sorry to my peepz.... I forgot to copy and paste the column off numonefan.com! Here is your WEEKLY Tuesday Tantrum Post :)

Dark Raider:

Can we even talk Oakland Raider football? What is Al Davis thinking? Yeah, I do not have a clue either. I do know one thing... Al Davis needs to get the stopwatch out of his (explicit). The Raiders drafted wide out, Darrius Hayward-Bay out of the University Maryland with the seventh pick overall. Hayward-Bay would have been around in the second or third round but when Al Davis sees someone that runs under a 4.35 40-yard dash, that is a franchise player in his mind. Seriously, until Davis steps in front of a UPS truck, the Raiders organization is doomed. Hayward-Bay did not even catch a ball in two of the games and he played in the weak, diluted ACC. The Raiders did not help themselves with their second round pick either, selecting Ohio safety Mike Mitchell who could have been their (literally) in the seventh round, if not a free agent. But since he had one of those "olympic performance" combines, Al Davis licked the envelope on him too.

With the first pick(s) of the 2010 draft, the Oakland Raiders select, Usain Bolt, Tyson Gay, and a cheetah from the amazon!

NFL Draft vs. NBA Draft:

Much like the NBA, the NFL Draft is the same bargain. In the Association, one bad trade sends you back four or five years. In the NFL, a top five draft can mess your entire organization. Then, you bomb for three years. Teams are designed to go 8-8. The highest percentages of teams with hope have the highest draft picks. There is a salary cap and the league is the most fair it can be in any professional sport. Nowadays, you go into the NBA season and you pretty much know who is going to make the playoffs... that's what it's coming to in the NFL. You do not want that. I can largely predict the divisions. San Diego, Indianapolis, New England, and Pittsburgh are guaranteed playoff teams this year. I can also name the teams that are not going to play postseason football- Cleveland, Oakland, Kansas City. This is NOT what you want NFL fans.

PS: Other Guarantees- Dolphins win less than 11 games. Also, Roy Williams will catch 70 passes and be an absolute "GEM."

Cincinnati:

The "BONGOLS" did a great job of drafting people that fit their "needs-" JAIL TIME. Acquiring Tank Johnson in the off-season then drafting Andre Smith who has had a multitude of character issues. What an absolute laugh out loud moment. I cannot say much more than that. Take it for what it's worth. Notice how the same teams, make the same mistakes over and over. You wonder why your obese and overweight. Maybe you do not eat healthy. "Oh no, I eat great!" How do you do it? Then you go eat with the person and they are slamming down bacon cheeseburger down their tube. Get serious, people do not change and nor do franchises in the NFL unless their is a firing in the front office. But it looks like the people in Cinci love Marvin Lewis for the time being, therefore NO CHANGE. Pathetic, disgraceful, and ludicrous is the way I describe that franchise.


Jay Mac's Mailbag


SEND ME THOSE MESSAGES... I will answer my mailbag every Sunday night with a Locker Room Article! Ask questions.... I'll give my perspective.

Damien (Pittsburgh, P.A.)

Which team from the east and west has the best chance of makin it to the finals over LA or Cleveland?

Well to be honest with you Damien, the Cleveland Cavaliers are going on a paddle boat to the Eastern Conference Finals and I do not see anyone matching up with "King James." Especially the way things are going right now... Chicago and Philadelphia cannot compete with the Cavaliers in a seven game series PERIOD.

The Western Conference is interesting because it looks like the Los Angeles Lakers are coming and going whenever they please. Whenever they want to win they say "Kobe.... ready set GO!" When they get a lead they say "yo Bynum... we going to the Playboy mansion tonight?" In all seriousness Phil Jackson's team is too good to matchup with anyone out west with their length, depth, size, and talent. If I absolutely had to choose a team that would give them fits, the team would be the winner from the Houston Portland series. The most matchup problems would be Portland.

Nabae (Detroit, M.I.)

How ignorant were the Tigers to trade away Jair Jurrjens for Edgar Renteria? Jurrjens is currently tearing shit up. Renteria would be better off bagging groceries.

In the likes of Lee Corso, "NOT so fast my friend." Your Detroit Tigers are 10-8 and first in the American League Central. That being said, Edgar "Enrique" Renteria is playing for the San Francisco Giants and he is doing some "ok" things in the "Bay Area." Renteria's grand slam won the game for the Giants over the Padres a couple days ago in a 8-3 win.

Your talking about a veteran leader who has won multiple gold gloves. He may not be in his prime, but Renteria still has skill at the age of 33.

As far as Jair Jurrjens goes, yes he has had fantastic start thus far. 2-1 with a 1.42 ERA in 25.1 inning pitched. Just 14 strikeouts but he is playing on house money as a "young gun" ($450,000). Detroit is fine, although I think Justin Verlander is too inconsistent and Dontrelle Willis is eroding at the age of 27 because he is at the physical therapist more than the mound.


Wednesday, April 22, 2009

The Great HOPE To The Great NOPE


First, he is the next Wilt Chamberlin. Then, he is “wilted.” Greg Oden goes from the great HOPE to the great NOPE quicker than anyone else in the National Basketball Association. If you have been watching the NBA playoffs you know exactly what I am talking about. In game one of the Portland Houston series, Oden scored 15 points and grabbed five rebounds. Last night, Oden plays 12 minutes and fouls out. Oh, he also provided his team with a donut hole in the scoring column.

Greg Oden is the prime example of these “want to be the next big thing” college basketball centers that come out of school early. We all say they will be great because we get lured in with all their ability to dunk the ball. That’s because no one can guard them in high school and college. Therefore, these big time centers come into the league and have no ability to score because their footwork is lousy. Oden dunked every basketball he scored while at Lawrence North High School and Ohio State.

Take a look at the statistics. These are the numbers that Greg Oden had after having a good performance. One night he goes for 17. The very next game he scores 2 points. Another night he goes for 24 then he goes for 10. Here are more: 14 then 5, 16 then 8, 2 then 13.

Can we finally admit that Portland massively screwed up and got a bust in the draft? Oden will never be a primetime center in the NBA. Great defensive player, but that is all. The guy is turning into the next Stanley Roberts. Sorry to make you turn your heads Portland, but Oden averages 4.0 fouls a game in just less than 21 minutes of average playing time. How long do we have to go before we can say that the Blazers franchise got no better whatsoever after drafting Greg Oden.

Lets not even get into the injury situation. Oden is like a really nice car that is in the garage all the time. Looks nice, got it for a good price ($$$), have some nice flat monitors in it, but have too many problems and are always in the shop. That's Oden in a nutshell at the moment.

Quit with the bad luck jargon too Portland fans. Karl Malone missed eight games in elite eighteen-year campaign. Oden is obviously injury prone.

All that being said, the Trailblazers are all but done in the series verse Houston. It took a Brandon Roy “Superman” performance and a jail cell defensive performance on Yao Ming for Portland to win game two. This series is over…

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Tuesday Tantrum - - Vol. 8


YANKS:  

The New York Yankees have officially made their $1.6 billion stadium a Little League baseball diamond. Over the weekend, the Yankees gave up 40 runs to the Cleveland Indians. First the massively over priced ticket, then 1,100 obstructed seats, now it’s a place where teams tee it up and whack away. The stadium has seen 14 long balls go to right center field. Is it me or can we finally say that the New York Yankees franchise is not well-run. Just like the Redskins, the Yankees are so disorganized. There is a reason why the Patriots do so well in the draft, season, and post season. Wes Welker was out on the market for everyone and guess who got him… the Pats.  

I mean for $1.6 billion, it seems like grocery stores are built better. I understand historically the Yankees have been bad in the first month, but seriously. Four games and you give up 20 homeruns, 14 to right field. Cleveland got two of their four wins on the season to New York. Once again, the Yankees are a disaster and may fail to make the post season.  

CLEVELAND:  

What are you thinking Cleveland Browns? Seriously. It has been rumored for a week and a half now that the Browns want to discard Braylon Edwards. What are you going to do Cleveland? You going to go draft Michael Crabtree who is coming out of a soft, bubble screen offense in the Big 12 over someone who had a fabulous season two years ago? Edwards is in a contract year… KEEP him … he will perform. The guy had a 150 plus receiving yard game against the New York Giants last year. He averaged 30 yards a catch… come on.  

Drafting Michael Crabtree, who is coming off surgery, will be an absolute terrible mistake by Cleveland if they trade away Edwards (a Pro-Bowl receiver) and draft Crabtree. No offense to Crabtree. He has a lot of potential and will likely be a fantastic receiver, but the NFL draft is all about taking chances… this is not a wise chance Cleveland. You may have Lebron James, but football is everything in Cleveland… draft wisely.  

Notre Dame Football:  

I'm here to say that Charlie Weis's Irish football team is going to win 10 football games this year. Stats don't lie people. Top 10 teams last year like Missouri and Clemson underachieved because the offensive lineman position is under rated. Mizzu and Clemson, who had high BCS expectations, struggled because their offensive line had less than 40 starts in their career. The surprise team, Utah, had over 100 starts on the O-line.  

Notre Dame is returning 80 starts to the offensive line this year. They have a returning quarterback who has got the system down. Lets face it, Notre Dame will win 10 games this season. The offensive line is such an under rated position just like a kitchen is to a house. For every dollar you spend on the kitchen, you get three dollars back. You walk into a house and see that nice bar and lounging area in your kitchen, you are in heaven. The kitchen is the mood of the house. Yards are over rated, plumbing is over rated, and most of all bedrooms are over hyped. Get the emotion out of it. Charlie Weis is going to win a ton of games this year. He is a polarizing figure who everyone likes to "dog," yet he has had winning seasons virtually every single year. I'm not saying that the Irish are a great team but with a weak schedule, returning quarterback, and most of all, an experienced offensive line, Notre Dame is a 10 win team... sorry Weis "hatas."  
New Port Richey Florida:  

The location of Mitchell High School where Jordan Schuster has pitched four consecutive no hitters. Schuster has thrown 60 strikeouts combined in the four "no nos," including 17 last night where he recorded his fourth "no no." Is it me or is this nearly impossible. The kid is heading to Florida but I say someone sign him NOW. The record for consecutive no hitters in hgih school baseball history is six, set by Tom Eangle. Congratulations "kiddo." You are officially on the "That's Nasty" highlights on ESPN without throwing a curveball.

Saturday, April 18, 2009

NBA Playoffs: WEST Ed.1


Now that you got my EAST first round predictions time for the "oh so predictable" Western Conference. The West is an all-around better first round because you do not have teams that just "slid down the sliding" and got in the playoffs. Lets start with...

(1) Los Angeles vs. (8) Utah

Utah has struggled losing six in a row down the stretch. We all know how poorly they play on the road, but watch out because Jerry Sloan's team can give Phil Jackson's "I'm on a mission, get out of our way" team a hell of a run for their money. They are deep, athletic, and above all, they can score points.

Kobe (the best player in the Association) Bryant is just too much for this Jazz team to handle. This L.A. team is deeper than the Atlantic. When you can have a Lamar Odom, who is a triple double waiting to happen, come off your bench, that's what I call luxury. L.A.'s deeper, better, and a better equation overall. And I cannot go against my "boi" Phil Jackson who is first all time in playoff wins with 193.

*4-STAR Series* 
L.A. over the Jazz - 6 games.

(2) Denver vs. (7) New Orleans

EASILY the most intriguing series of all the first round playoff games because if you want an upset, this is the one to put your "mula" on. Vegas has the Hornets at +220 and I have to agree. This series will be tight because Denver, in my opinion, has some bone heads on their team. I have emphasized my love for Chauncey Billups but J.R. Smith, Chris (I will not call him "Birdman") Anderson, and Kenyan Martin are just not a good mix of players.

Geroge Karl has overachieved this season. Though he finsihed second in my "Coach of The Year" voting, he is going out early in the first round. The series could easily go to the Pepsi Center for the seventh game but I am just not sure...

*5-Star Series* 
New Orleans over the Nuggets - 5 games.

(3) San Antonio vs. (6) Dallas

How do you go against the Spurs after the run they have had. Greg Popovich, who is third all-time in playoff wins with 103, has out coached the majority once again. No Manu Ginobli, but they still have Tony Parker and "the most consistent player I think ever" in Timothy Duncan. Those two players sprinkled in with a "hope he can handle the pressure unlike when he was with the Wizzards" Robert Mason Jr., I feel as if this team is destined once again.

Dallas has been extraordinary. They bring in this guy named Rick Carlisle (haha "this guy) and he does a poor job in the beginning but then some how miraculously gets his team to a six seed. Jason Terry, who is an absolute lock for "6th man of the year," has had one of his best years and Dirk Nowitzki has followed it up with a superb second half season. Lets not forget about the acquisition of Drew Gooden, who has been outstanding off the bench. In the end too much Tony Parker... Mavs have no one that can guard him. Though I will say, do not be surprised if the upset occurs because Dallas has played their A game the latter part of the season.

*4-STAR Series* 
San Antonio over the Mavericks - 5 games.

(4)Portland vs. (5) Houston

Who would have thought a TMACless Rocket team would be the five seed out west. Rick Adelman has done a terrific job with this Houston team by utilizing Yao Ming the way he should have been used this entire time. Yao is the "franchise player." That is why you got him Houston. That being said, I am still nervous about taking the Rockets because the Trailblazers are the new upcoming team out west. The reason why: Well because "Eastern Washington's best," Mr. Brandon Roy himself has been lights out all year. I know he is a second tear MVP candidate but who would not want this guy on their team?

I do not like the "Human Foul" machine, Greg Oden, but I love the rest of the team. Listen, quit pretending that Oden was not a massively and overwhelmingly BAD pick. He is a complete bust. (But that is besides the fact.) I love the rest of this Portland team and I think (if they get to the second round) they can give L.A. a run for their money. They are younger, fresher, and flashy... that is a good recipe for an upset... maybe.

*5-STAR Series* 
Portland over the Rockets - 7 games.


NBA Playoffs: EAST Ed.1


Is this not the most obvious slash easiest NBA playoffs to predict? I think so. Unlike the past, the association has two "clear cut- more recognizable than the Rascal Flats frosted tip hair" teams that have a boat ride to the NBA Finals. The Los Angeles Lakers from the Western Conference and the Cleveland Cavaliers from the Eastern Conference are bar none the best teams. You may think that the Western Conference could be a shaky road for the Lakers to travel through but I say "GO CHALK." Whether it takes L.A. to win in four games or seven, Phil Jackson's team is on a mission.

But for the fans sake... this is how far your team is getting...

(1) Cleveland vs. (8) Detroit

I know Mo-Town has been torched. The state of Michigan has an unemployment rate of 12 percent. The city of Detroit has a 21 percent unemployment rate. Those statistics are unbelievable. What's more remarkable... the Detroit Pistons have been in the playoffs seven straight years. There comes a time when "you have to put that favorite golf polo up because you have worn it 199 times." It's time for the Pistons to smell those roses they do not want to smell.

Admitting the obvious: You made a mistake by getting rid of the "sometimes overhyped, genuinely overrated crunch-time" guy in Chauncey Billups. We all know that, but it is time for a change. Change is good Mo-Town. Is Rodney Stuckey the real answer?

As for the Cavaliers... this game is a "suhhhh-weep." Lebron James will boat ride this Pistons team. As usual, Bron Bron will soar over the rim with multiple "is he going to throw himself into the net" dunks and thrash the Pistons. I see Detroit getting rim rocked so hard that Joe Dumars will be thinking, "Lets get to summer league...FAST."

*1-STAR Series* 
Cleveland over the Pistons - 4 games. "SWEEP"

(2) Boston vs. (7) Chicago

I'm NOT going to state the obvious because that is useless "go back to bed information." We all watch the ESPN. That being said, Kevin Garnet is out for the Celtics (just wanted to tease you). A KG-less Celts team does not only mean no repeat, but it means that they are a vulnerable one in done team. The Chicago Bulls are no easy "Mike Tyson first round knock out." Your talking about a team that has lost two games since the All-Star break in "The Windy City."

Doc River's team is 18-7 without KG but it is the playoffs. Unlike the "we play a back-to-back lets rest Shaq" thing, it is not going to work for the Celts without Garnet in the lineup. Paul Pierce (in a 7-game series) cannot guard the best player and score the most points for Boston night in and night out. Sorry, he is just not that kind of player. He guarded Kobe and played well against him, the next series Pierce looked exhausted as "Takeru Kobayashi after one of those hot dog eating contest." Boston is going to rely on Leon Powe, Glen Davis, and the "I'm not good enough to guard my own mouth guard" Mikki Moore to defend people like Tyrus Thomas, Dwight Howard, and Lebron James every other night. Not sure I buy that.

*4-STAR Series* 
Boston over the Bulls - 6 games.

(3) Orlando vs. (6) Philadelphia

Could it be a magic year in Orlando? Some think so.

My diagnoses: Stan Van Gundy may not be the coach of the year, but he is in that category called "workaholic." The Magic has gotten to the playoffs as a three seed without their premier floor-general, Jamier Nelson. Without Nelson, Orlando has relied on a "hit-or-miss" Rashard Lewis and a "Thanksgiving dinner Turkey" Hedo Turkoglu to lead their team in the backcourt. It is remarkable to see how well these two have meshed together along with "Superman" in the paint.

As for the Sixers, they have a legit shot in this series because they have that experience that is just annoying. The Sixers pound the ball right at teams. Granted they have lost six in a row. Do not think they cannot extend this series if not pull out a surprise from the hat.

*3-STAR Series* 
Orlando over the 76er's - 6 games.

(4) Atlanta Hawks vs. (5) Miami Heat

Does anyone talk about the Hawks anymore? After taking the Boston Celtics to seven games last year and getting a seed in which they will have home court advantage, I do not here about ATL basketball anymore. In fact I have read more news on TI's jail sentence than Hawk basketball. The Hawks were 3-1 against the Heat this season so I do not know if DWADE (certainly deserves MVP in my book with that supporting cast) can do it all by himself. That's all I have for this 50/50 "could go either way" series.

*5-STAR Series* 
Atlanta over the Heat - 7 games.

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Tuesday Tantrum - - Vol. 7


WoW! I have some big time rants from the past week. "And here we go........."  

BALTIMORE FANS:  

After selling out their home opening games verse the New York Yankees with 44,000 plus showing up, Oriole fans decided to be a "NO SHOW" the very next day against the defending AL East Champion Tampa Bay Rays. A mere 15,000 fans showed up for that game.  

Baltimore Oriole fans do you understand why you did not get Mark Teixeira because I sure do hope so. Get use to it... you are irrelevant. There are about six or seven teams that matter in baseball. Life is not fair. Some kids are born with the last name Trump and some are born with the last name Smith. Get over it. Teixeira wanted to go somewhere where he mattered. "Boo" him all you want but hate signs? Get serious. Start living in the "is" and not the "was." Plus what if you did get Teixeira? Then, you would have all of your cookies in one jar and no money left. No money. No bullpen.  

THE MASTERS:  

I hope everyone gets it now. Tiger and Phil are bigger than "The Masters." Golf purist may hate that but everyone hates the truth. Sorry golf purist, old overweight guys and green jackets do not move me. Here is how big Mick and Tiger are... CBS went to live coverage of Tiger scratching himself yet they showed the leaders on tape. Jim Nantz was dying to say "Cya later, give it to Kenny Perry," after Tiger and Phil was in the clubhouse and totally out of it.  

I'm sorry golf purist but most people would have thought Kenny Perry was a country singer before this tournament. I am not into the old cranky basketball coach, who yells and screams. That does not do it for me. Tiger and Phil do A.K.A. newer, hipper, more vibrant.  

Two guys matter... everyone else is to fill the dead air while Phil and Tiger move to their next shot. For a casual golf fan, they are the two that matter. Now you can be a beat reporter or some golf junky but that stuff is for "Golf Digest." Good for you, but to most it's just not that compelling unless Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson are in the picture. Go to the tape if you think I'm lying. Tiger and Phil's gallery were 25 rows deep. Kenny Perry's were three deep.  

MORE GOLF?  

Sergio Garcia has apologized for his statements about Augusta being too difficult and blaming the course for his poor effort and scores. Sergio you best be apologizing because that course was not that hard. All the par fives were reachable in two, the greens were easier than most major events, it's the only course you play every single year at the same place-same time in a major, and if that wasn't enough- there were several golfers way below par after Saturday.  

Sergio please do not make this mistake again by blurbing out your Spaniard comments. You have missed 11 cuts in Major events including one disqualification. Quit choking on the Spanish seafood and start playing like a professional.

Saturday, April 11, 2009

Swatting The Nats Away


A 2-hour-2-minute rain delay did not stop Kelly Johnson from breaking loose as the Atlanta Braves (3-1) won in extra innings Friday night. It was the Braves 2009 home opener at Turner Field that nearly took six hours to complete. The Braves (3-1) pleased the fans by winning a grudge match 6-5 over the Washington Nationals (0-4) in the 10th inning. Johnson drove in rookie, center fielder Jordan Schafer.  

The winning run may have came at 1:26 a.m., but Brave's Johnson told reporters after the game, "If you're going to stay here until 1:30 you might as well win it."  

Schafer led off the 10th inning by hitting a single off the mound, then moved to second off a Omar Ifante groundout. Eventually, the sensational rookie scored off of Johnon's hit to give the Braves their third win of the early baseball season.  

Washington's starting pitcher, Sharion Martis, gave up five hits and three runs in just three innings. The good news for Martis, he got his first Major League hit.  

The Nationals (0-4), trailed 4-1 during the delay but then came charging back with three runs in the sixth to tie it up. Therefore, showing the Brave's lack of bullpen, which could not hold off a 10-3 lead against the Philadelphia Phillies on Wednesday night. The Phils rallied back to win 12-11.  

The Braves (3-1) will remain at Turner Field for the weekend to finish out a short three game series verse the winless Nats.

Friday, April 10, 2009

Lowe Looks For Second Win In The Home Opener


After an astonishing performance last week against the reigning World Series Champion Philadelphia Phillies, Derek Lowe will get his second start of the season in the home opener tonight. "I've always loved pitching at Turner Fied," Lowe told Mark Bowman of MLB.com.

The Atlanta Braves (2-1) will take the baseball diamond tonight against the struggling Washington Nationals (0-3). The Nats are still looking for their first win of the early baseball season. Shairon Martis will take the mound for the winless Washington team tonight. Martis was 1-3 in the 2008 season with an ERA above five.

The Braves' (2-1), Lowe, will look to get the team back on the winning side after giving up eight runs in the bottom seventh Wednesday night. The Braves 12-11 loss to the Phillies (1-2) was, nonetheless, a disappointment. Lowe is a career 2-2 at Turner Field with a 4.55 ERA.

With Garret Anderson suffering from a strained right calf, Matt Diaz will take his place in left field tonight. Meanwhile, Braves' slugger, Chipper Jones, will return to the lineup tonight after missing Wednesday's game with a bruised left thumb.

The Nationals (0-3) are hoping to get at least one good outing from their bullpen. So far the Nats have given up 26 runs in just three games. Meanwhile, Washington has only touched home plate 13 times.

The fans should be excited for the game tonight, not only because their Braves are off to a red hot start, but they will enjoy the Friday night fireworks that will be staged every Friday night home game this season.


Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Tuesday Tantrum - - Vol. 6


PLAXICO: 

Yes, Mr. Burress is in the news again. What's new right? Burress was recently released by the New York Giants late last week. Sources say Burress reportedly cursed out a poilce officer in Florida during a recent traffic stop. Burress, who faces up to 3 1/2 years in "the pen," told the policeman he was going to be in trouble because Burress knew the sheriff "personally." The officer pulled Burress over around 10:30 on March 18 in Ft. Lauderdale, F.L. "[Expletive] you," Burress said. "You can't open my [expletive] door." Burress was completely out of line.  

My stand: Get serious PLAX! Is it me... or is this guy eroding quickly? He has had problems in the past and no team needs a problem child on their team these days because we all know what happens to them... they get the cuffs. And Giant fans please do not worry. Your fine. Well run franchise. Great players. Top 12 quarterback. Fantastic coach. Do good in the draft and you will be just fine. I mean seriously... who is not putting the Giants as one of the two or three teams to beat in the League next year!?  

BALTIMORE FANS:  

Baltimore fans need to get a life after last night's bush league performance out of the fans. Fans held "We Hate You Mark Teixeria" signs. Get serious fans. You can boo him, but HATE... HATE!? Wow. Hey Baltimore fan, you do not condone hating in a ball park... that's wrong. Also, if someone like Ray Lewis signed with the Ravens for a $100 million, you would not say one thing. Therefore, shut up on the whole Teixeria deal. Your not relevant and the Yankees are. Furthermore, what would you do if you signed Teixeria? Be competitive for six years. You would be just like the Seattle Mariners. Sign a "big time" batter and not have any money left for pitching. The Yankees can do both. Unlike Baltimore, Teixeria actually matters.  

Cincinnati Bengals:  

Well they just reportedly signed Tank Johnson. What a dumpster fire...

(Locker Room post from last week).  

SOME TEAMS JUST DON'T GET IT.  

The Cincinnati Bengals have recently said they had interest in acquiring former Cowboys and Bears defensive tackle, Tank Johnson. Shocker. The Bengals have are known for having players who have had the cuffs on them more than once.  

Think about the situation in Cincinnati. Half of their players these days are in the "Witness Protection Program." They have had 13 players arrested from 2006-2008. Bengals wide receiver being the ring leader in the pack with four arrest himself. Oh yeah, that was in one single year.  

Now the Bengals are going after someone (Tank Johnson) that has had numerous "run ins" with the law. Sometimes the jokes just write themselves, don't they? Seriously, talk to a fat person. They all say, "Well I try to eat well." No you don't. You treat ranch dressing like it is oxygen. "Aw but I am just big boned." No your not. Put down the bag of Doritos and go run on a treadmill. "But I have a disability." Yeah, you do. It's called you cannot get up off the couch and make yourself useful. Instead of sitting there watching Jerry Seinfield and launching four burgers down the tube, go watch some PBS and have a turkey sandwich.  

Seriously... think about it. If you eat well, your thin. If you don't, then your carrying a lot of unnecessary weight and that is what the Bengals are doing right now. Carrying around a lot of unnecessary weight. Hint: you cannot win with a dumpster fire full of players.  

The Bengals are a prime example of "You are what you consume." The Bengals partake in drafting people like AJ Nicholson, who had problems in college and O'dell Thurman, who also had problems in college. The front office just doesn't get the picture, that's all Cincinnati.  

At this point, I would not be surprised if Mike Vick was on their dating hotline. If you are flirting with Tank Johnson, then who knows what is on their radar.

Monday, April 6, 2009

2009 MLB Predictions


NL East- New York Mets
NL Central- Chicago Cubs
NL West- Los Angeles Dodgers
WILD CARD- Philadelphia Phillies

AL East- Boston Red Sox
AL Central- Minnesota Twins
AL West- Anaheim Angels
WILD CARD- New York Yankees

WORLD SERIES: Chicago Cubs vs. Boston Red Sox 
(Read the rest of the post and I will give you the winner at the end!)

**National League Individual

CY Young- Johan Santana 
MVP- Chase Utley or David Wright (too tough to decide)
Rookie of The Year- Jason Schafer
Save Champion- Jose Valverde or K-Rod
Batting Champion- David Wright
Home Run Champion- Manny Ramierez
Comeback Player of The Year- Andruw Jones
Steals Champion- Jose Reyes
Manager of The Year- Dusty Baker, Cincinnati Reds

**American League Individual

CY Young- Jon Lester
MVP- Justin Morneau
Rookie of The Year- Matt Wieters
Save Champion- Brian Fuentes
Batting Champion- Justin Morneau
Home Run Champion- Josh Hamilton 
Comeback Player of The Year- Jason Giambi, I think will have a great season with the A's but I will take Travis Hafner.
Steals Champion- Coco Crisp... playing everyday in Kansas City will help enormously.
Manager of The Year- Bob Green, Oakland Athletics

**WORLD SERIES WINNER

CHICAGO CUBS in 7 games over the Boston Red Sox!!! 

"The Curse" ENDS in 09'!

Not So Lowe Expectations


PHILADELPHIA, P.A. -- The Atlanta Braves (1-0) may be the team to beat in the National League East after last nights win over the defending World Series champion Philadelphia Phillies (0-1) 4-1.

 

The celebration is over in "The City of Brotherly Love” and the Braves new ace in the lineup, Derek Lowe, made that noticeable after throwing a two-hitter in eight innings of pitching. Lowe's debut was phenomenal allowing no walks in a prolific performance.

 

Lowe finished with six 1-2-3 innings. The Phillies' (0-1) only run was given up by Braves closer Mike Gonzalez in the bottom of the ninth inning to Eric Bruntlett.

 

The Braves were led by a 2-run home run by Brian McCann in the first inning and two solo shots in the second. Jeff Francoeur and rookie center fielder Jordan Schafer hit the solo shots. Schafer hit his first home run as a Major Leaguer in his first at-bat. The lefty became just the 99th player to ever accomplish that spectacular statistic.

 

Opening night was everything it ought to be. Good hits, superior pitching and fielding, and a sight of enjoyment.

 

The Braves Phils series will continue tomorrow night in Philadelphia. First pitch will be thrown out at 7:05 p.m. ET. There is no question that the Braves outstanding performance last night made them look like they could compete in, what seemed to be, a two team race.

Sunday, April 5, 2009

Get "Yo" Cleats Wet


PHILADELPHIA, P.A. -- It's that time of year again. After crowning a new World Series Champion, it's time to get out the wood bats, put on the new batting gloves, and get "yo" cleats wet.

The Philadelphia Phillies may be the 2008 World Series champions, but once Brett Myers throws the first pitch tonight against the Atlanta Braves in the 2009 major league opener, it's a new season.

Former Los Angeles Dodger, Derek Lowe, will be on the pitchers' mound tonight for the Braves, as they seek to get back in the hunt this season after finishing a poor 72-90, placing Bobby Cox's squad fourth in the National League East last season. Lowe, who was lured away from the Dodgers organization and acquired by the Braves this offseason, went 14-11 last year with an ERA of 3.24. Lowe will not need to spend much time familiarizing himself with Citizens Bank Park in Philadelphia, because counting his National League Championship start last year, this will be Lowe's third consecutive start against the defending World Series champions.

In the Phillies bullpen, will stand a six-foot four-inch, 222 pound right hander in Brett Myers. The 12th overall selection from seven years ago is coming off a mediocre season. Myers had an ERA of 4.55 with a losing record of 10-13.

This opening night game starts up a six-game series between the Braves and Phillies. The game will air on ESPN tonight at 8:00 PM ET.

Let's play ball.